A Woman's Voice


JUST THE FACTS MA’AM….JUST THE FACTS by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on April 9, 2014
Tags: , , , , , ,

MEMORY LANE

Oh my gosh!  Please tell me I’m not the only one who remembers Sargeant Joe Friday played by Jack Webb on the weekly television show Dragnet.  There has to be someone out there who remembers him besides me.  That show is so old and I know I’m dating myself here, but this famous quote that has been associated with Joe Friday resonates in my life today. 

We have recently gone through an emotional situation in my family. It’s wonderful to see how much we all care and how passionate we all are about what we “think” and “feel”.  We are what I consider to be a passionate lot. I guess when you are part of one family, you have no idea how other people operate within their own families. Perhaps when it comes to someone or something we love or care about, we are all passionate and operate much the same way. I have no idea if this holds true. Only you can tell me how you or your family handles a crisis situation. I hope you do by leaving a comment. 

If there is one thing I notice in life, not only in dealing with personal problems, the closer to home the situation is, the more emotional we become and as a result, the less objective.  Whether positive or negative, emotions can cloud our vision and hamper our judgment. We need our emotions.  They make us tick and are a vital part of our human nature. However, when we are very emotional about a situation, we can let them get the better of us.

At times, it is not only necessary but better to step back and let cooler heads prevail. This can be very tough to do in any situation but in a crisis situation it is essential to make a wise and informed decision. I agree with Sargeant Friday.  Sometimes, we need “just the facts” without the emotions riding rampant.  I’m taking Sargeant Friday’s words of advice to heart.  Oftentimes, I need to be reminded to go for a walk to clear my head and deal with “just the facts”.  What about you?  

By the way, I checked that famous quote out. Joe Friday really said “All we know are the facts, ma’am”.  It kind of morphed into “Just the facts, ma’ma…just the facts” over the years. As far as I’m concerned, as long as we deal with “just the facts”, we will make much wiser decisions.  However, it doesn’t hurt to check them out as well to ensure that they actually are the facts.  

       

4 Responses to 'JUST THE FACTS MA’AM….JUST THE FACTS by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'JUST THE FACTS MA’AM….JUST THE FACTS by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Mary Haskett said,

    Okay, just the facts on your thought provoking piece. Well said mam:)


  2. Mary,
    Thanks Mary! Yes…just the facts ma’am. How is your husband doing? I’ve been praying for you both. Take care. 🙂

  3. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I LOVED dragnet, I used to watch it with my dad. I loved that and Hawaii 5-0! dragnet was black and white I remember that. I loved the fact finding in that show.

    I have a really really large family. I have seven siblings and they have produced some 18 nieces and nephews! Even though we live in separate states we are very close. Thanks to all the hi-tec options now, we skype, text, IM, call, email, wallpost …… ad infinitum! We are very close and in crisis there always seems to be someone who takes charge. There are often differences of opinions in how to handle things, and for the most part everyone gets heard, but eventually, once a decision is made, we regroup and stand together.

    We are an emotional group, we are extremely close, and when something happens to one of use …. emotions can often take over …. but there is usually a sanity that prevails once we get past our initial reaction. I think the good thing about our family is that we know how emotional we are, and we make allowance for that in our decision process. I’ll often hear a sister say I know I’m emotional right now, it’ll pass and I’ll be better… or I know this is must my emotions talking…. so over the years I think we have come to be self aware and work in the time for emotion in our crisis management strategies!

    great post .. and thanks for reminding me of Dragnet … such a good show!


  4. Hope….wow, you must be a bit older than I thought you were. I never expected you to remember Dragnet. It was a very neat show and so simple in black and white. Not much action either, just good, old-fashioned acting!

    I’m kind of glad to hear that your family can be emotional too! It so neat how close you still are even if you are spread across in different states. You’re a real gem! 🙂


Leave a Reply

