A Woman's Voice


LOVE TRIANGLE ~ December 27, 2011 by Fred Ayotte

Posted in MEMORY LANE,WORDS OF WISDOM ~ A MAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on December 27, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

MEMORY LANE 

I know many of you have heard of a love triangle where 2 people love the same person. In this situation, the two suitors usually don’t like each other at all. This happened to me during my 30’s and 40’s with my wonderful wife. 

In my late 30’s, one of my twin daughters on her thirteenth birthday, acquired a brownish-red miniature poodle named Joey. He was a very beautiful dog. However, as time went by in our house, Joey came to believe that he and my wife were the married couple and that I was in the way. 

Many times I had to set him straight. For instance, my wife always went to bed a few hours earlier than me. Joey would jump onto the bed and sleep on my side. When I came to bed later, he did not want to move. I had to physically remove him (very gently) and put him on the floor so that I could get into my side of the bed. There were many other similar occasions like this where he thought I was the third wheel in our house and I had to set him straight yet again. Needless to say I was not a big fan of his and he wanted nothing to do with me for being like this. 

Many years later, when my daughter eventually got her own place, she took Joey with her. Well, as you know, dogs do not have as long a life span as humans. In his 13th year, Joey became quite sick. After numerous trips to the vet, we knew it was just a matter of time until he would have to be put down in order to prevent him from needless suffering. 

A few days before he passed away, we were visiting at our daughter’s apartment. I was sitting on a chair and Joey came right up to me and just sat right at my feet. I reached down to pick him up and he didn’t put up a fuss like he normally did. He just sat on my lap very quietly without even trying to move or get down. 

A few days later he passed away. I know, even if no one else believes me that Joey came to me before he died so we could make amends for our relationship. In his own way he was forgiving me for my behaviour. It’s too bad, we as humans; often times can’t be anywhere near as forgiving as Joey. What a wonderful world this would be if we were.  Don’t you agree?

Thanks Fred for reminding me how precious Joey was in our lives and also for the gentle reminder of the need for forgiveness.

 

13 Responses to 'LOVE TRIANGLE ~ December 27, 2011 by Fred Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'LOVE TRIANGLE ~ December 27, 2011 by Fred Ayotte'.

  1. clearbluewindow said,

    Fred, I agree 100%. I think we humans can learn a lot from animals – pets or otherwise.

    I laughed as I pictured the two of you vying for attention. I can imagine the looks he would give you when he thought you weren’t looking – and maybe there were some similar ones from you? I couldn’t help but think of my partner’s relationship with our cat, Bella. (I’m sure they do really like each other, but they daren’t let anyone know that!).

    I cried as I came to the part describing Joey becoming ill and my heart melted as I pictured him sitting at your feet, perhaps hoping quietly that you would pick him up – just as you did. Perhaps he was quietly giving you the ‘ok’ to take his place in your wife’s heart, or asking you in his own way to continue looking after her.

    Or maybe he just wanted you to know that he understood why you had moved him off the bed, and reasserted yourself as ‘the husband’ – or needed to let you know he had always cared for you but just couldn’t show it.

    Regardless, you have captured the essence of an animal’s capacity for unconditional love – something humans could all learn from.

  2. Mary Haskett said,

    A very moving story, focusing on unconditional love.
    Thank you so much for sharing


  3. Joey was a cute little dog. I don’t see how your wife let him go live with the daughter. I couldn’t let mine go. This story brought tears to my eyes. I enjoyed reading it. Thanks for sharing.
    Barb

  4. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Yes animals sure do have unconditional love and really do forgive. They seem to know when they will be leaving us and pay special attention to their masters.Ironically the person that ususally needs forgiving the most is ourselves! Very nice article Fred and well written!!!

  5. Judith said,

    Fred, Thank you for sharing this delightful and moving story about Joey. What a beautiful reconciliation you had at the end.

  6. Sarah said,

    this really touched me….actually made me cry. Joey is adorable and Fred…your story the best…

  7. Fred Ayotte said,

    Thank you very much for all your comments. Animals do show a great sense of forgiveness.

  8. Sharon Smyth said,

    Fred – that was a great story with a touching ending. Having had dogs all our married lives – we could really relate. Ken and Sharon Smyth

  9. Susan said,

    Beautiful post, Fred. It brought tears to my eyes! Our pets do think they are the ones in charge, don’t they. Actually, I think they are….
    Blessings, Susan

  10. Bob Dunbar said,

    Have you considered that the dog may have some problems with hockey players?

  11. Steven Fivecats said,

    This is a very moving story. We’ve had to face the loss of two of our cats. It is amazing how much they can teach us about love and other things if we allow them. I know Joey will always have a place in your hearts and memories and it will be such a warm and comforting place. We miss our Littlefeet and Sam very much. They brought us a lot of joy and love in their short little lives.

  12. hope_rising said,

    Fred,

    I really likes this story and it’s message of forgiveness. My beautiful dog is 16 years old right now and just starting to show signs of her age. I work very hard to stay focused on all she she still has, and do my best to keep her moving and keep her comfortable.

    I think animals have a knowing, and I think Joey knew you would need to have a connection to him before he moved on. Good for you for being open to it.

    very lovely post


  13. Hope,
    I’m going to thank you on behalf of Fred. I will definitely tell him about your lovely comments. It’s hard to believe how much we can love our pets. What’s even harder to believe is how unconditionally they love us. We have a lot to learn from them. Love and forgiveness are at the top of the list as far as behaviors that we should try to emulate! 🙂


Leave a Reply

