A Woman's Voice


A RAG DOLL CHRISTMAS ~ December 23, 2011 by Barbara Robinson

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on December 23, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

MEMORY LANE ~ Merry Christmas Everyone!

“Just what do you think you’re doing? That doll was meant to be your Christmas present.” Mom stood in the door, and her eyes shot sparks. It was a couple of days before Christmas. She’d been busy with company, and I’d decided I couldn’t wait.  

 I was caught red-handed standing on a chair pulled up to the closet, but I quickly shoved the doll back into the bag and placed the blankets on the top shelf over her. “Sorry, Mom.” 

 “And you should be. You know I can’t afford anything else, and now you know what you’re getting for Christmas.” She turned and stalked from the room. I climbed down and placed the chair back by the bed. Disappointed, I’d planned to slip the doll back into the closet and not let Mom know I knew what I was getting. I hadn’t meant to ruin her surprise. And, it was just like her to get some sort of doll. I should’ve known without even having to look.  

Mom’s voice rang from the adjoining room. “Now, it won’t be a surprise.” 

“At least sissy will still have one.” It was my turn to stand in the door and eye her “I love her. I’ll still be happy on Christmas morning. I can’t wait to get her.”   

Mom glared for a second. “Seems you can’t wait for anything.” Then, her face softened. “It’s just that I wanted our first Christmas without your dad to be special.” Dad died when I was only four years old on Christmas Day. It’s only been a year. The way I looked at it, this one had to be better no matter what. It couldn’t get any worse than the last one, could it?  

“Curiosity kills the cat, you know.”  

“What?” I glanced at Mom, but she laughed. “Forget it.” 

“I guess it killed the Christmas surprise this year.”  I hung my head.  

Christmas morn I found a stocking with fruit and candy, the rag doll stuck in the top. When I look back upon that morning, I call it my rag-doll Christmas, because that was all I got that year.  

It wasn’t until I grew up and had children of my own that it dawned on me just how much I’d spoiled the holiday for Mom. She only received a small social-security check once a month after my father’s death. As I look back with an adult’s eyes, I realize how hard it must have been for my mother who always tried her best to make ends meet and make our Christmas special. But, she had me for a daughter, a curious little tomboy of a girl who always managed to find some way to spoil every surprise she planned. I blame it on my love for mystery, of course, but I now realize how disappointed she had to have been. She wanted to watch her young daughter open her Christmas gift with wide-eyed surprise and wonder. I just never had the knack for being surprised, since I couldn’t wait long enough to let anything  be one.  

Now, I realize I missed a lot of fun that way, and you really do remember surprises more, but that’s one rag-doll Christmas I’ll never forget. Like memories, good surprises are to be cherished, and they’re so much more fun. But the greatest Christmas gift of all is sweet Jesus, and He’s one surprise I didn’t find too soon.

Thanks Barb for sharing another one of your incredible memories with all of us.  It’s a wonderful Christmas story and it teaches a little lesson too!                                                                                           

 

 

B. J. Robinson makes her home in Florida with her husband, a cocker spaniel named Sunflower, and an adopted shelter cat named Frankie.

 

Visit her at http://barbarajrobinson.blogspot.com for more of her writing and Christian book reviews.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

           

 

 

9 Responses to 'A RAG DOLL CHRISTMAS ~ December 23, 2011 by Barbara Robinson'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A RAG DOLL CHRISTMAS ~ December 23, 2011 by Barbara Robinson'.


  1. Dolores, thanks for publishing it. It’s one of many Christmas memories from the past 🙂
    Blessings,
    Barb


    • You are so welcome Barb…it is a wonderful memory to share at this time of the year. Blessings to you and yours over the Christmas Season and throughout the New Year!

  2. Rita Garcia said,

    Great story—and I love the part about not finding Jesus too soon—isn’t that the truth. I’m so glad I found Jesus—and not a moment too soon!
    I think maybe your mom knew what a smart little girl she had, and secretly laughed over your amazing sleuthing. My oldest daughter was the same way. I have great memories of her always finding her gifts. It became a game to try and hide them from her—I seldom won! One Christmas she found hers and her sisters, I caught her just before she showed her sisters what they were getting.
    You, like my daughter, are a woman any mom would be proud of.


    • Hi Rita,
      Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m also guilty of finding and giving my youngest sister her Marble the Mustang one year before Christmas, but that’s another story I wrote 🙂 I’m glad I found Jesus, too; He’s my best friend. Have a wonderful, blessed Christmas.
      Blessings,
      Barb


  3. Rita,
    Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m also guilty of showing my youngest sister her Marble the Mustang before Christmas one year. I’m the one who couldn’t wait 🙂 Have a wonderful Christmas! Blessings,
    Barb


  4. Dolores, you have the most wonderful knack for surprises. This made my morning. Thanks. I did have a surprise by Ron Knight’s 2011 List of 100 FB authors. I wasn’t expecting that one. Found I made the top 100, which tickled me. Then, I realized I’d made the top fifty. Kept going and saw I’d made the top ten. Then, realized I was number two. Now, that was quite a pleasant surprise and so was seeing this published first thing this morning. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Dolores.


    • Good morning Barb…I am honored to repost your lovely Christmas story. I’m so happy I made your day. Congratulations on coming in second in the top 100 books. What a huge accomplishment! Merry Christmas! 🙂


      • Thanks, Dolores. That was quite a surprise. I’m glad to see that Rita enjoyed the story again 🙂 She posted like 🙂 Blessings, Barb


      • You’re very welcome Barb…I missed Rita’s Like. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! 🙂


Leave a Reply

