A Woman's Voice


Positive Attitude ~ December 22, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

MEMORY LANE

I recall going bowling in my younger years and to be honest, I do not have an athletic bone in my body.  I got the worst score possible.  It was so embarrassing!  I didn’t even realize that anyone had been watching me until after the game when this gentleman came up to me and introduced himself as a minister. 

He said something which has stuck in my mind all these years… something that I didn’t even realize I was doing.  Obviously  he could see how badly I was bowling.  It was pretty apparent but he proceeded to tell me that after every ball I threw, no matter how bad it was, I would turn around and smile at my fellow bowlers.  He then told me how wonderful he thought this was.  Wow…it was like, how could anyone smile after bowling the way I did!  I was so grateful for the compliment that I thanked him and then gave him one of my biggest smiles.  It meant the world to me that someone had given me such a fine a compliment.

That’s me in a nutshell, forever the smiley one…forever the eternal optimist.  You know the one. The one, who would be searching for a puppy if she found a pile of dung in the garage while someone else would be cursing the mess.  I would think that someone probably gave me a new puppy as a gift and I would be busy trying to find it.  There could be no other explanation!  Right?

You want to know my secret? I can usually find the bright side to just about anything. This has been my saving grace in facing the ups and downs of daily living. It has been said that “it is worth a thousand pounds a year to have the habit of looking on the bright side of things”. (Johnson)  So in other words, it is probably where some of my greatest wealth lies because in most instances this is how I choose to view life.   Choose is the key word here. In life we have many choices and our attitude usually has a huge impact on how we view life.  I guess you could always ask yourself if you see your “glass as half empty or half full”.  Your answer might give you a better understanding of what I mean.

 

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“The greatest discovery of my generation is that human beings can alter their lives by altering their attitudes of mind.” (William James)

“The greatest power that a person possesses is the power to choose” (J. Martin Kohe) 

 

8 Responses to 'Positive Attitude ~ December 22, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Positive Attitude ~ December 22, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. chosenwoman said,

    Sis you know I don’t know what it is when it comes to our attitudes we all need to adjust them..I don’t know if it is how we perceive things or what..The best we can do is let God but it still require something on our part as well. Thanks for sharing your blog sis.


    • Yes…you are so right! I think we need to Let go , Let God!


  2. This story describes you to a tea! I sure hope I inherited your wonderful attitude for always seeing the best in a situation and also your ability to always see the best in people. I could not have asked for a better role model!


    • Thanks Andrea…I think you know me pretty well as you have been exposed to this “attitude” your entire life. I am very honored that you want to emulate me. This has always been my goal as your mother, that of being your role model and worthy of your love and respect.

  3. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    you are right, it’s a choice to seek the up side. I am more likely to do that now than in the past, and life is much easier for having become that.

    I can physically feel in my body the difference in how thinking about things changes how I feel… just amazing…

    also this year I started distance running and it’s amazing, SUPER amazing .. how if I tell my legs they are strong enough they are, but if I focus on the fatigue I tire….

    You are most definitely what you think you are .. I am learning that more than ever !!!

    great post!

    do you have a wii? you can bowl on that …… I love bowling and I am not at all good at it …. though I’m better now, the people behind me no longer duck under the table when it’s my turn ! so there’s that!

    LLL from HTH !


    • Hope….it so wonderful to hear that things have changed for you by making some positive steps in your life to help you along the way.

      At times, it’s the smallest of tweaks and we’re off on a totally different path. I took up walking just like you took up running. It sure was a positive step for me. We don’t have a Wii but we have enjoyed the use of it when we visit our grandchildren. Thanks for stopping by and see you tomorrow.

      HTH from LLL Miss D 🙂

  4. Barb Newman said,

    Well Done Dolores!!
    Keep up the positive attitude and enthusiasm for life!!!


    • Thanks Barb…I appreciate your support and enthusiasm. We all know that it is not always easy to keep our “chin up” as we face what life has to offer but it certainly helps if we make every effort to tweak our attitudes as much as possible. 🙂


Leave a Reply

