A Woman's Voice


FEAR ~ December 21, 2011 by Audra Krell

Posted in INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES by doloresayotte on December 21, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

INSPIRATIONAL STORY 

                                                                                                               iStockphoto

                                                                                          

Remember when fear used to be different? Back in the day it was a gangly teenager, all knees and elbows. We tucked ourselves around the sharp angles and edges, bent ourselves to conform to childlike worries.

As we grew, so did fear. It became a young adult, and we wondered where it would show up next. And with energy like that, we could conjure it up at any given time. Sometimes it was better to sleep with fear than to sleep alone.

And then fear became a mature adult. An obese, dark monster, who nightly pulls up a chair and waits. We smell and feel its hot breath before we’ve even opened our eyes. When we do, fear doesn’t wait for an invitation. It curls around us, taking up all the air and consuming us from the outside in.

When fear wants to spoon, I pray. I write as if my life depended on it, I spend time with my loves and I focus on the moment. 

Living in the moment reaps a heart of thankfulness for all I do have; taking the focus off of what I’m afraid I won’t.

 

Thanks so much Audra for such a refreshing reminder about how all-consuming  fear can be and how to better deal with it. To learn more about Audra please visit her at:

KRELLFISH

6 Responses to 'FEAR ~ December 21, 2011 by Audra Krell'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'FEAR ~ December 21, 2011 by Audra Krell'.

  1. Audra Krell said,

    Dolores, Thank you for having me. Especially this time of year, fear can sink it’s teeth in for many reasons. Slowing down and focusing on just this minute and then the next, allows us to experience and enjoy the reason for the season.


    • You are very welcome Audra….your contribution to “A Wo-Man’s Voice” is always greatly appreciated!

  2. hope_rising said,

    Audra!

    what a great article. I love your response to fear. I write too, and focus on the moment. I ask myself how much of what I fear is real or likely and how much is just fear running rampid! Most of the things I have feared or worried about never actually came to pass. I try to remind myself of that.

    great article, great strategy!

    • Audra Krell said,

      Thank you very much. I really like that you are so aware of what is happening to you, that you ask yourself important questions. Here’s to a fear free 2011!

  3. Desiray said,

    great message sis I remember those days now fear has taken on a whole new look and with a whole new set of problems. But thanks be to God He did not give us the spirit of fear but of power love and a sound mind, AMEN


    • Thanks Desiray…I know exactly what you mean. I was once consumed with fear too until I realized that the true power of love casts out all fear. I now know the peace and joy that follows and I am forever grateful to God for these precious gifts.


Leave a Reply

