A Woman's Voice


THE TRUTH ~ December 15, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

 

THE TRUTH: It may not lead you to where you thought you were going, but it will always lead you somewhere better. When ignored, it will eventually show itself. The closeness of your relationships is directly proportional to the degree to which you have revealed the truth about yourself. It can be painful.  (Source Unknown) 

It is not always easy to have honest and open relationships. The more honest they are, the more vulnerable we become….it is one of the reasons that we choose to wear masks in life.  We do this to protect ourselves from what others may think or say about us.  We usually try to put our best foot forward in order to impress people.  The more comfortable we become in a relationship, the more we feel safe to take down these barriers. 

The truth …”It’s a process of peeling away the layers of your false self, your trying-to-be-something-you’re-not self, your copycat self, your trying-to-sound-a-certain-way self, your spent-my-life-watching-television self. It’s like going to psychotherapy, delving deep and allowing the real you to emerge, only in this case you want it to find its way on to the page.” (Rachelle Gardner-Literary Agent)

Yes, the truth may not lead you to where you thought you were going but would you want it any other way…? 

The truth, if and when you choose to embrace it, has a way of cleansing your soul like a pleasant rain that falls ever so gently and washes away all your weaknesses.

The truth gives us the courage to face all that life offers.  

The truth is why we have chosen to write and to bare our souls to those who honor us by reading our words.  Yes, the truth for those who seek it, can find its way to the page. May you feel the mist on your face that mingles with your tears as you wash away your woes. (click on the above picture to feel the cleansing rainfall that the truth can offer)

 

14 Responses to 'THE TRUTH ~ December 15, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THE TRUTH ~ December 15, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Phoenix said,

    Dolores, the statement, “…when ignored, it will eventually show itself…” is ringing in my ears. That is exactly what I needed to have reaffirmed today – thank you 🙂


    • Phoenix…God works in mysterious ways. He knows our habits and He knows what we need to hear. He is very creative in getting messages to us. I just love the way He works. God touched you through me. I am honored. 🙂

  2. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Great article Dolores! It shows the depth and courage that you have chosen to look within. Few of us will ever do that because…….EGO (Edging God Out) often takes over and we prefer NOT to look at ourselves. With a strong EGO one may insist they are right and that may be their truth. For another their truth may be entirely different.Ironically truth usually comes about when we humble ourselves to God and are prepared to be silent and listen. When we ask God for answers and wisdom we have to be prepared to keep quiet to hear his soft voice.It often is different than we originally thought! This in my opinion is our gift from God called growth………


    • Thanks Lorraine for your compliments about my depth and courage. I have found that I must draw from a resource greater than mine when it comes to “the truth”. Philosophically when things appear greater than my own compehension of a subject, I tend to quote from others who may know more than me. I have done so again in this instance. “The truth simply is…that’s all. It doesn’t need reasons: it doesn’t have to be right: it’s just the truth. ” (Carl Frederick)

  3. Nikki said,

    beautiful and absolute truth.


    • Hi Nikki…thanks for stopping by and for your kind comments.

  4. Barb Newman said,

    Thanks again Dolores for beautiful and insightful words!


    • You are very welcome Barb and thanks to you too for your continued support and encouragement. It means a great deal to me!

  5. hope_rising said,

    WOW ! that rainshower thing was pretty cool! Very nice!

    The truth, that is a tough one. The truth belongs I believe only to the people who will honor it. Like you said, the people that you love and that you ask to love you back, they deserve your truth as best you can tell it. But for some other relationships, professional etc my exprience has been, don’t lie, but least said soonest mended. I think there are degrees. The greatest and most important truth, is the one you tell yourself. To thine own self be true… at the end of the day, you’ve got to be who you are to live with yourself.

    the truth .. it’s a very fine line…

    LLL from HTH


    • Hi Hope,
      The truth…yes it is indeed a tough one. I think we reveal different facets of ourselves to different people in our lives at different times. It involves a lot of trust. The truth…it is a very fine line as you said and can be a slippery slope. It is a difficult concept to truly comprehend and must be utilized with intelligence and compassion. HTH from LLL Miss D 🙂


  6. Ahhhhh yes – “The truth shall set you free” – no truer words have been spoken…

    As I’ve mentioned in my blog – my therapist said something that really rang true to me which was:

    “You’re only as sick as your secrets”… once I realized this and came clean I was able to TRULY heal! 🙂

    Great post!!

    Christine


    • Christine,
      I loved what your therapist said. It sounds as if she’s really helped you along. I am so glad that you found each other again. I really enjoy your blog. It has been very enlightening!


      • If I could I’d have EVERYONE go to her! 🙂

        Yes – she is my guardian angel on earth! She has helped me tremendously – but so have meeting people like you and reading your wonderful posts – and having your heartfelt support! 🙂

        I really appreciate your kinds words regarding my blog… it means so much.

        I’m so happy I first came across your daughter’s blog (which is absolutely amazing – and then as a result – coming across yours!) – These are the types of blogs people need to read to “nourish their soul” because that is such an important part of life and remaining happy, healthy, and positive!

  7. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    The different comments have been enlightening!! I have enjoyed them and I agree with many!! I take from the comments that there really is only one truth and that is what we share with God. He knows our truth and when we are truly ready to see more he reveals more to us. It is not always what we want to see.I suppose counselling helps reveal some of these truths that may be hidden like in Christine’s situation.It certainly does sound like she has a Guardian Angel!! Good for you Christine for taking the time to explore and heal. God Bless! Lorraine


Leave a Reply

