A Woman's Voice


CHILDHOOD TALENTS ~ December 14, 2011 by Laura Davis

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

I was at lunch with my friends and one of the topics of conversation had to do with our children. We observed that certain passions or talents exhibited during childhood led our kids to the careers or ministries they have chosen today. For example, my daughter Sarah took an interest in drawing and displayed a natural talent for it when she was no more than two years old. Today, she is planning a career in animation. One friend told us that her son, as a wee boy, would be drawn to police cars and loved dressing up as a policeman. Today, he is a police officer. The granddaughter of my friend Carol loves to video tape herself doing cooking shows. I’m guessing she is either going to be a cook, or an actress, as Carol tells me she’s quite a natural in front of the camera! 

As we continued to talk, we started to see a trend – what we were passionate about as children or had a natural talent for, eventually led us to what we would do in our adult years. I used to sing myself to sleep at night and began singing at a very early age. As I grew older, God led me into a singing ministry. I also spent countless hours reading when I was growing up and writing all kinds of fanciful stories. So, I shouldn’t have been surprised when, after my singing ministry ended, I started writing. 

So, I started to wonder – what did Mary see in Jesus when he was growing up, that led her to ask him to turn water into wine?  Had Jesus performed other miracles before this one? None are recorded in the bible. So, what made Mary force his hand at the wedding in Cana? How did she know he could help them in a miraculous way? By her knowledge of his birth and childhood! She knew Jesus was God’s son. She didn’t need any convincing on that score. So, like any good Jewish mother she nagged, pushed and prodded until her child did as he was told. Not that Jesus would need to be nagged – the bible said he was obedient to his parents (Luke 2:51). Despite the fact that Jesus was reluctant to display his power so early in his ministry, he obeyed his mother and his first miracle caused his first disciples – James, John, Peter, Andrew, Philip and Nathanael, to put their faith in him. 

What are you passionate about? What are your talents? These desires and gifts, if you look back far enough, have been built into you from an early age. You are God’s workmanship and He designed you with those particular passions and talents in mind. He has a plan for you and made you for a specific purpose. Examine your life. Are you doing what God created you to do? 

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Thank you Laura for your inspirational story.

Laura is a fellow author.  Her book is titled “Come to Me”. 

For more information about Laura please visit:

Author Laura Davis      Interviews & Reviews 

 

9 Responses to 'CHILDHOOD TALENTS ~ December 14, 2011 by Laura Davis'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'CHILDHOOD TALENTS ~ December 14, 2011 by Laura Davis'.


  1. I always had to be the teacher when we played school as children, and I loved to read and write and had my first story published in the hometown newspaper when I was in the third grade. Now, I teach and write, so your blog is on target. I really enjoyed reading it. Blessings, Barb

  2. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Laura your article made me realize I better take a better look at my grandchildren! As a young girl I always found myself either reading or in the kitchen with my Mom and always enjoyed writing so in some respects I did exactly what I really wanted to do with my life. I’ve worked for the same Company for thirty years in both Payroll/Human Resources but my desire has always been to write and thanks to Dolores’ “blog” here I am and I love it. I also enjoy cooking and reading and my kids and grandkids love my cooking and the little ones have always enjoyed my “Fraidy Cat” stories that I created over fifteen years ago! Thank you for your very interesting article and I look forward to reading more of them!

    Shirley

  3. Andrea Cockerill said,

    I so agree that we were all sent here for a reason and we all have a purpose. It is interesting to look back at one’s childhood to see when the seeds of our talents started to grow. Thanks for a great article.

  4. Mary Haskett said,

    Laura,
    Great thoughts! Yes I’ve realized as an adult that God has led me to pursue those childhod passions. Every blessing to you and thanks for sharing:)

  5. Shawn Pollett said,

    I couldn’t help but laugh at the image of Mary nagging her son! How human is that! Great blog, Laura.

  6. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    That is a beautiful article Laura! Ironically I was going to write an article called ” What is your passion?” As a very young girl I used to like to dance for my mom and dad and anyone else who was there to watch. With a large family and no extra cash dance lessons were out of the question. Luckily after the age of 50 I stumbled across line dancing and then clogging! I feel like I am a little girl again doing what I could not do as a kid!! I absolutely love it and feel truly blessed to have found my passion!! Thanks for sharing such a personal story!!

  7. hope_rising said,

    Hi Laura!

    Very interesting premise. I actually read it this morning and had to think about it.

    I guess because I don’t think I am living my destiny. I am engineer, and I’m good at it, but it does not feel like what I was destined to do or be. I chose it because of the income potential. Any minute now, I expect to figure out my destiny ;-). Hopefully with enough time to act on it!

    That being said, I do have passion for music and I play for myself and with friends. When I’m playing it feels like home.

    I can see in my nieces and nephews how very different they are and how hardwired they are for their passions. One of the teenagers who slept with his hockey stick when he was two, lives and breathes hockey now. He is amazing. It is most definitely his destiny …..

    There are the girls, in two very distinct categories… pink and not pink! Both camps are pretty well represented with these little darlings, and a few will move from on to the other, but for the most part…. they are either fairy wand waving, tutu wearing, tippy toe little wonders OR there’s a socker ball stuck to the end of their shoes always!

    I do see the influence of the personalities of the mom’s, as well. So I found it all very interesting to think about.

    Excellent premise, you had me thinking all day!

    Now I’m pooped!

    nice post.

  8. Laura Davis said,

    Thanks everyone for your comments and thanks Dolores for inviting me to share!


  9. You are very welcome Laura and thanks to all my readers for their comments! Thye are greatly appreciated!


Leave a Reply

