A Woman's Voice


CHRISTMAS LOVE ~ December 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Inspirational Quotes & Anecdotes

For those of you who missed my post over the weekend on Just a Closer Stumble With Thee, I have reposted my article here. I hope you enjoy it. Once again, much thanks to Janet for featuring me as a guest blogger.  

The Christmas Season is upon us once again. It is only two short weeks until Christmas Eve. The hustle and bustle of Christmas is all around us as we hurry and scurry about to finish our shopping and plan for all the usual celebrations. I want to draw from some precious memories to stress the importance of keeping the true meaning of Christmas alive as we come to the end of 2011. In order to do so, I am going to travel back into my own childhood and the memories that I cherish from so long ago.

When I was a young girl, Christmas was seldom about giving gifts. If I received one…it was usually an unwrapped and much-needed article. I considered myself blessed to receive any present at all. The excitement mounted in our home regardless of the lack of presents. Christmas Eve was the start of the family celebratory season with a midnight church service followed by the special treats of homemade “tortiere”/ meat pie and other Christmas delights.

My siblings and I would tie our stockings to our wrought iron bed and wait for morning with eager anticipation. Sometime during the night, my dad would creep into our bedroom and quietly put one Christmas orange, a few peanuts in the shells, and some hard unwrapped candy at the bottom of our long stockings…stockings that we actually wore and only used in this manner once a year for this special occasion. Even when we were very young, we never talked about Santa Claus. We seemed to always know that it was my dad putting those few items in our stockings that we were so grateful to receive.

To me, Christmas Love is really about family but even more importantly, it is about celebrating the birth of Christ. In doing so, we are sharing in the joy of the holy family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph and that special birth of Our Savior that took place over 2000 years ago.

At times, it is apparent to me that society has taken the Christ out of Xmas and replaced it with many un-Christ-like substitutes…a multitude of X’s. There is much Xtravagance, many unrealistic Xpectations, too much Xtra spending, Xaggerated gift giving, Xcessive eating, Xhaustion, and too many other Xmas activities to mention. In order to truly experience the meaning of Christmas Love, it is necessary to get back to basics and keep Christ in our Christmas festivities by removing as many X’s as possible.

I also feel it is necessary to refocus and redefine what Christmas is all about and what we can personally do to recapture some of the love, joy, and peace of this wondrous season.

Therefore, on that note, I would like to wish each of you a Christmas Season filled…less with the Xploits of consumerism and…more with the Love of Christ. This is what Christmas Love is all about and why I think it is so precious. Wouldn’t you agree? 

 

8 Responses to 'CHRISTMAS LOVE ~ December 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'CHRISTMAS LOVE ~ December 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. What a sweet memory Dolores, and I agree the excitement is always there and just having a gift, not a dozen, is enough to enjoy the day and make things so special. I love the idea about the stocking being hung on
    your bed….such a specail time for sure. Memories are wonderful, how fortunate we are to have and share them. Blessings for another one to you and yours for a bundle of great new memories to make! 🙂


    • Thank you Diane,
      I very much agree with you Diane! One gift or a dozen gifts…makes no difference when the true spirit of a Christ-centered Christmas reigns. Special family memories of years gone by and now the gift of creating new ones to celebrate the birth of Christ. Enjoy making your blessed family memories too my dear friend in Christ…Dolores


  2. I absolutely agree, Dolores!
    May your Christmas be everything you have expressed so beautifully!
    God bless!
    Janie Wilkins


    • Thank you Janie! I kept you in my prayers last night. May God grant you and your family a blessed and peacful Christmas. Take gentle care.
      Your friend in Christ…Dolores

  3. audrakrell said,

    How I long for these glorious simpler times. I’d love to feature this post on my blog…let me know if you’re interested! Merry Christmas Dolores.


    • Audra…I too long for these glorious simpler times. So many of us who know how much easier it was then…long to get back the simplicity and peace of these beautiful memorable Christmas times. When the big soft snowflakes would sometimes grace our footsteps after our midnight church service…even as a young child, I could truly feel God’s presence.
      I would be very honored to have you feature this post on your blog. I can email it to you or you can copy and paste it. Either way is fine with me but if you need other info I can provide it. Please let me know and also inform me when you will post it so I can follow any possible comments. Christmas Blessings to you and yours my dear friend in Christ. Dolores 🙂


  4. What a lovely Christmas post. That’s exactly how our family feels. For many years we have not exchanged gifts but talked about where else that money has gone – to others who need it. It is a great time of celebrating Christ’s birth and how Jesus said to “look after orphans and widows”.

    You might like to read Ann Voskamp’s post called Whose birthday is it anyway? http://www.aholyexperience.com/2011/12/when-christmas-gets-radical-whose-birthday-is-it-really/

    Merry Christmas and blessings,
    Jan


    • Thank you Jan! It’s always wonderful to hear how other families celebrate Christmas. It certainly sounds like yours has the true spirit of Christmas and all that it entails as you share your stories of helping others. It is not easy to stay focused on the birth of Christ when Christmas is so commercialized. It’s admirable that you have created this lovely spiritual tradition with your family. I am sure the atmosphere is very peaceful and rewarding. Jan…I would like to wish you, Wayne and your precious family a joyful and blessed Christmas. I hope Wayne continues to be on the mend and that you have a safe trip home. Take care and God bless.


Leave a Reply

