A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ The Jongleur ~ December 8, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

I have French heritage. My dad’s first language was French and I married a Frenchman just like my dad.  Now over forty years later when I look at my husband, I can hardly believe how much he resembles him.  Perhaps it is only in his mannerisms but I see more.  He not only looks like him…it is how he acts…what he says and…also how he says it.  I have always loved my French background, but I have never fulfilled my dream of carrying on a conversation in the French language that I love so much. 

Many years ago when I was experiencing bouts of serious depression, I used to have long periods of silence.  I spent a lot of hours thinking.  Thinking about what was happening to me…thinking about how I had arrived at this point…and thinking about what I was going to do to positively change my lot in life.  The French word for “to think” is “jongler”.  When I had some of these episodes of deep thought, my husband frequently queried me about what was going on in my mind.  It was more out of concern for me than anything else. He wanted to know what I was thinking so he could better help me deal with these troubling thoughts. 

He knew how much I loved the French language and often times he would insert French words into our English conversations.  Therefore, he would ask me what I was “jongling” about on a regular basis.  He would do this to please me as well as to bring me out of that moment of despair and into our present day state of affairs.  He could tell by the expression on my face that I was troubled as I was mulling over things in my mind in order to make more sense of them.  

Now, almost thirty years later, I am writing about these very thoughts in an open and forthright way.  In many instances, I use the voice of the “jongleur” to do so.  The “jongleur” is a French minstrel who used to make his way from town to town to entertain people in the olden days.  At times, he utilized stories or music to help do this.  When I write, it is done in much the same fashion. I usually incorporate much humor… many quotes…anecdotes…and personal stories to entertain my readers. I do this to make a variety of points as well as a method of sharing my personal philosophy on life. 

Now that I have succeeded in sorting through my puzzling thoughts, I feel much more comfortable, not only sharing them with my husband and my family, but with others as well.  I am, what I consider to be, a present day jongleur as I share my written musings with you!   I sincerely hope that you find pleasure in getting to know me better and that you derive some benefit from my writing and what I have to say.  The point to my writing is not because I want to say something, it’s more about my actual need to say it. The following quote describes my desire to write in a nutshell.

“You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.” ~  F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

6 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ The Jongleur ~ December 8, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ The Jongleur ~ December 8, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. I enjoyed this post and I really like the quote. It does describe my desire as well.


    • Doreen….thank you for reading my post and leaving a comment too. It’s wonderful when a fellow writer can relate to exactly what I am trying to say. Bright blessings to you!

  2. Laurette Godard said,

    DOLORES, I ALWAYS ENJOY WHAT YOU WRITE. THANK YOU.
    LAURETTE


    • Laurette…how wonderful to hear from you. I always appreciate when you drop by. Thank you for leaving such an encouraging comment too. Blessings to you and yours!

  3. raisethegaze said,

    Hello Dolores, I too enjoy your writing and this post.
    It’s more than 50 years since I last had a French lesson (in school, back in the UK) and I haven’t kept it up.

    You’ve enlarged my vocabulary with “jongler” and “jongleur.” There’s a sort of playful ring to that, I’d say.

    “Penser” — the verb “to think” is what I learned then.
    Emm … at least I THINK it was! Jonglin’ already, eh? 🙂


    • Hey Peter…thanks for stopping by and for your usual supportive comments. I always appreciate our little means of communication via our respective blogs.

      You have a very good memory. “Penser” is definitely the French verb “to think”. “Jongler” also means “to think” but in a fretful way such as stewing or mulling over some bothersome thoughts. I just asked my husband the difference between the two in order to refresh my own memory of my French lessons so many years ago. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and yours a very Blessed Christmas and much health and happiness in the New Year! 🙂


Leave a Reply

