A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Siloam Mission ~ December 7, 2011 by Gloria Korell

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on December 7, 2011
Tags: , , , , ,

My Sister’s Voice

In the past few months I had the privilege of volunteering at Siloam Mission with my daughter Meagan.  I experienced first hand what it was like to do “God’s work”.  Observing the volunteers, people of all races and ages, working in such harmony to provide for the patrons of Siloam gave me the impression the work was effortless.  The eagerness to prepare a meal and clean up afterwards with such smiling faces and cheery hearts delivered a strong message about the rewards of giving.  

My first visit to Siloam left me with a different opinion of the homeless.  I discovered that they could be one of us and we could be one of them and as my volunteer experience continued so did my connection with these people.  We so often take for granted our blessings in life. 

In weeks following, each time I visited Siloam the rewards became greater.  In a strange way I was becoming “addicted”.  I needed to feel the “high” from giving.  It felt like I was becoming needy myself.  I wanted to continually hand over that plate of food so I could hear the thank you or see a smile on someone’s face.  Yes, the significance of people needing one another.  My need was just as great as theirs. 

As a result, this experience has been one of the most rewarding in my life and I am grateful my daughter had the opportunity to open her heart and give to others less fortunate.  All our experiences in life help us to “connect the dots” on our journey.  For me, this experience not only opened my eyes, but also my heart and it made me realize that I too was being fed. 

Thank you Gloria.  What a wonderful “addiction” to have!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Remember this–that very little is needed to make a happy life.”  (Marcus Aurelius)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

 

6 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Siloam Mission ~ December 7, 2011 by Gloria Korell'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Siloam Mission ~ December 7, 2011 by Gloria Korell'.

  1. Audra Krell said,

    It’s amazing how giving a cup of cold water in Jesus’ name, quenches your own thirst.

  2. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    What a wonderful way to express your generosity and kindness Gloria! An addiction to giving is certainly a twist from other addictions and I know this experience was not only beneficial to you but also to Meagan and to those on the receiving end! Great article!!

  3. Andrea Cockerill said,

    I remember the first time I ever realized that we are all the same, that it is just circumstances that creates this illusion of difference. I remember crying because I finally got it. I hope I never forget that there really is no “us or them”, just we.

  4. Mary Haskett said,

    I echo Audra’s comment. it is joy unspeakable when we do as He bids us. Thank you for sharing your joy!


  5. How true Gloria about being the one who receives the blessings when we help others. My hubby was a director in MI at a large mission his grandfather founded in the 1930’s; and I think those years of seeing seeds planted and the harvest of souls, life changes, etc. were the most rewarding ever. Thanks for sharing that..it brought back some great memories! 🙂 Bless you!

  6. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    That was a beautiful article Gloria. You are so right…. we can never judge because anyone of us could be homeless. I also see many lonely wealthy people who are judged because of their success.The truth is many of these people have often helped the less fortunate yet they are judged for being materialistic.They are not known for who they are just like the homeless are not. Your article was strong and true……love and be loved and be one who does not judge whether rich or poor!!


Leave a Reply

