A Woman's Voice


STORAGE BINS ~ December 5, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

To me…life is like a closet full of storage bins.  It’s very difficult to know what you want to give away, donate or discard. It’s even harder to discard some of those items that have been given to us as gifts or those that have sentimental value.  Some of these items may have little or no monetary worth but they fill our drawers and our storage bins.  I have many such items that I cannot part with because they mean so much to me. 

If I keep these items, will they have any special meaning to my children or my grandchildren? 

The last birthday card signed “with love” by my mother-in-law before she died over twenty years ago,

…the ripped sheet of paper from an old prayer-book with my father’s signature so proudly written on it,

…the scribbled notes that my granddaughter left in the bathroom cupboard,

…the popcorn pictures and artwork from my other grandchildren,

…and the albums of numerous pictures that my husband so conscientiously organized.

Who will want these treasures that I have saved?   

When I was seventeen years old, my boyfriend was chosen to go on a school trip to Vancouver, BC.  On his return, he gave me a beautiful sweater.  That was over 40 years ago. That boyfriend became my husband, my friend, my lover, my confidant. Who will want that “holey” not “holy” sweater I have so carefully wrapped and stored in some box in my basement?  Our children are going to have a huge laugh on us one day as they sort through our belongings and discover how sentimental we really are!

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“The man is richest whose pleasures are the cheapest” ~ Henry David Thoreau

 

15 Responses to 'STORAGE BINS ~ December 5, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'STORAGE BINS ~ December 5, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Desiray said,

    Great blog sis I think we all can identify with this blog..


    • Desiray…thanks for stopping by and for your kind words! 🙂


  2. I can’t believe you still have that sweater!! I remember thinking that it looked so out of date when I was a kid, but Dad’s love for you never goes out of style.


    • Andrea…yes I guess some things never go out of style like old sentimental sweaters and good old fashioned morals and values. Spousal love is one of the most important. 🙂


  3. I’m one of those sentimental people too – I hold on to stuff that I often wonder “who is going to find meaning in these things just because I did?” – I find it very hard to toss out items that others would think nothing of… EVERYTHING has a special meaning to me.

    But then I remember that I do this for ME – because it’s fun to go back and look at all of those wonderful memories and just “get lost” in them for a while. They always make me smile, as if I’m seeing the items again for the first time. I always forget what I have and so it’s like finding a new treasure each time! 🙂

    Loved the post!!


    • Christine….thanks so much. It’s wonderful to know that I have a kindred spirit in you. Sentimental people are usually sensitive people who care a lot about others. I think you’re one of those kind souls. 🙂


      • That’s what I have heard – while it can be a good thing (obviously) to care about others – sometimes it can drain me – when I worry about people that I read on the news!!! It is great to connect with other truly sensitive people too! 🙂

  4. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Great love story! Ironically God’s love is the most important and with God coming first he teaches us about spousal love and all other loves. Few have chosen to put God first and experience the grace he offers. I remember Dad saying “Don’t bite the hand that feeds you”. Dad had alot of wisdom which continues to grow in all of his family today!


    • Thanks Lorraine for your comments. Yes..God’s love definitely comes first. I agree, Dad had many wonderful expression for us all to remember and enjoy. We are so fortunate to have such fond memories of him. 🙂


  5. Interesting, I just thought about these things only last week. I don’t think my treasures will be of much value to my children and grandchildren. They don’t value the same things, and I don’t think they save things like I do 🙂 They’ll probably pile it all up and let the garbage truck haul it all away like trash, which is what it will be to them, I’m afraid. But, as they say, one man’s trash is another’s treasure. Me thinks perhaps I should give some of it away to people I know who will find value in it instead of saving it for those who won’t appreciate it. Enjoyed your piece.
    Blessings, Barb


    • Barb…you are so right! One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. When I look at some of the items I’ve saved I cannot believe my own sentimentality. Oh well, it could be worse. The oddest, most seemingly worthless things, seem to mean so much to me! 🙂


  6. So loved your analogy 🙂

  7. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I have this shirt my sister (now 34) made me when she was 6. It has my name on it and some music notes. It is just barely a tshirt anymore. It was thin to start with (back in the day) and now … man…. I only put it on, on a rare occassion when I know she’ll see it .. it just makes her laugh..she so remembers making it. I also have a sweater my dad bought me for Christmas when I was a teenager. I just can’t part with it, but stained and worn, can’t wear it either and I have this one shirt a friend of mine, now passed, let me borrow and I never had the chance to return it…. so I think we all have our collections of things we keep.

    I have let go of a lot in the past couple of years. When the adoption process ended and I finally worked up the where with all to take down her room and find homes for her things … it sorta snowballed into throwing/giving/donating just tons of things. I know much of the things from my childhood etc. I didn’t keep because, without her, there was no legacy or reason to hold on to it. But the few things I mentioned above .. just couldn’t bring myself to do it…. so I understand your point in the article, wondering if someone else would appreciate it when you no longer do … but for now … so long as you do, that is all that really matters…

    you had an article a few months back about a family that went through their parent’s things and home together … someday (very very far far away someday )your kids will do that too …. and you are right they will probably laugh at some of it!

    great article! … you should collage that sheet with your dad’s signature in a frame with his picture, a picture of the book, or him with the book ifyou have it and a picture of you…. that would be cool and it would make it a keepsake.

    LLL from HTH!


    • Hope…how did I know that you would be able to relate to this post? I would have to say, it is because I feel I know you so well through this wonderful way that we have learned to communicate. It’s neat to hear that you have a few clothes items that you can’t part with either.

      Every morning your words give my day new hope. Your words have not only been inspirational, they have brought me peace and solace. I share the sorrow of the adoption of your daughter not working out. I also share your goal of living life each day with renewed hope as we continue on this journey together.

      Thanks for the creative idea on how to use that page from my Dad’s prayer book.He had very little formal education and he was so proud of his signature.He would oftentimes just write it for me at the kitchen table to show me how proud he was of the way he could write with the little education he had. I am going to frame it just like you suggested. Once again you have made my day! HTH from LLL Miss D :).


Leave a Reply

