A Woman's Voice


A SECOND LOOK ~ November 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

I am what most people would consider to be “the average Joe”.  I am very down to earth and I pretty well blend in wherever I go.   I am not the kind of person that stands out and for all intents and purposes, I am not comfortable with being the center of attention. In a very small group, I can be seen as the life of the party but in a larger group I seem to fade away. In other words, I’m far more of an introvert than an extrovert.

Many years ago I attended a large staff Christmas party with my husband.  Actually it was his staff party and I knew very few people which I admit, contributed to my awkwardness in this type of situation.  The wife of one of my husband’s co-workers came up to me later on in the evening and made a comment to me that I have never forgotten. 

She said, “you are the type of person that no one would ever notice when they first walked into a room.  However, if they took the time to take  a second look, they would never forget you”. 

I hardly knew this woman, yet her words had a profound effect on me.  At first blush, I’m an average looking person.  I really don’t stand out in any way, shape or form.  I seldom draw attention to myself  by anything I say, do or wear in these types of situations.  In fact, I will usually go out of my way to avoid the limelight in these large group settings. 

What this woman said to me was a two-sided comment.  I chose to see the bright side of it and learn from her words. How many people appear to be just like the average Joe?  If and when we take the time to take a second look and draw them out, we may be very pleasantly surprised by what we discover. 

Some people are very comfortable with being in the center of things and have no trouble drawing attention to themselves. In fact, it is very natural for them to do so.  

For those that aren’t nearly as comfortable, it’s a  great idea for us to take the time to have a second look and see what we might have missed if we didn’t. 

I’m grateful to that woman who took the time so many years ago to teach me this very simple yet valuable lesson. I have been taking a second look at the people around me ever since.  It has paid off big time!

 

11 Responses to 'A SECOND LOOK ~ November 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A SECOND LOOK ~ November 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Andrea said,

    Although you may feel like you fade in amongst the crowd, your smile sure doesn’t!!


    • Thanks Andrea…I appreciate that compliment! You wouldn’t be biased now, would you?? Love Mom 🙂

  2. Laurette said,

    That is correct. You have the most beautiful smile.
    Laurette


    • Thank you Laurette…I appreciate that compliment!

  3. Susan said,

    Another thing we have in common… not wanting to be the center of attention. I have to agree with your daughter, you do have a beautiful smile. Good post!
    🙂 Susan


    • Thanks Susan…I have a sneaking suspicion that we have a lot in common and I’m very pleased about that!

  4. hope_rising said,

    I am with Andrea, your smile would light up a room.. I would imagine that you would definitely get my attention when you came into a room.

    But I will say, in my run group there was a person who, at first impression, seemed very odd to me and my first impression was not very high and he was someone I avoided. Then he did me an act of kindness that showed me a completely, very likable side of himself… so in that was a great eye opener for me, first impressions are not always that reliable and this particular second look gave me a great supporter in this fellow runner.

    LLL from HTH

  5. hope_rising said,

    Hey MIss D!

    Isn’t your book coming out soon. Like in a couple of weeks??

    that just popped into my head .. I’m so excited for you !

    LLL from HTH !


    • Hope…yes, my new book will be out within a matter of weeks. Sometime in Jan. if all goes as plannned. Are you still willing to do the book review? If so, I will have you email me with your address and as soon as I receive my first book order, I will mail one off to you! Enjoy the rest of your weekend. HTH from LLL Miss D 🙂


  6. Dolores, yet another of your posts that has resonated with me, I have only ‘met’ you today and I like you already – LOL:)

    This post took the words, right out of my mouth, as I had been musing on the same subject, earlier this year and had decided – ‘no more Miss Average or ordinary for me!!’
    I am continually being transformed with the renewing of my mind and I have increased in confidence and have become more bolder in certain situations.

    I give God all the glory.

    Ps: Your graphics in this post are soooo funny!


    • Carole…you have so made my day! What wonderful comments to wake up to and just what I needed to start my day on a positive note. Yes, we have a true friend in Christ with Desiray and I am so happy you found me through her. I’m going to visit your site too! Bless you for spending time with me.


Leave a Reply

