A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Common Courtesy ~ November 27, 2011 by Dolores ayotte

“Courteous people learn courtesy from the discourteous.” 

Does this quote from the book “Veil of Roses” by Laura Fitzgerald make any sense to you? It sure does to me. Common courtesy or common decency can be as uncommon as common sense.  As you can see, I’m full of oxymorons today. What I am actually trying to say is this…when I witness people being rude or unkind to others, it really gets my goat.   As soon as I observe such unacceptable behavior I always do a self-check. I almost bend over backwards to treat people with even more kindness than I normally do.

There is no way that I want to behave in such a discourteous or disrespectful way.  In essence, I  immediately become even more courteous and behave the exact opposite of the negative behavior I may have just observed. Therefore, the above quote may actually be true in many instances. My husband and I have a couple of cute expressions of our own. When we observe bad behavior my husband will often say, “if I ever act like that, please let me know” or “remind me ‘not’ to act like that”. What do you think? Do you also bend over backwards to ‘not’ act the same discourteous way that you may have witnessed?  

 

2 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Common Courtesy ~ November 27, 2011 by Dolores ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Common Courtesy ~ November 27, 2011 by Dolores ayotte'.


  1. The quote certainly is true in most instances.
    It is a sad fact; courteousness is a dying virtue, simply because many people are brought up, never being taught how to be courteous to others, which is to act, considering others and their feelings.

    Interesting subject, Dolores.

    Blessings to you and yours 🙂


    • Hi Carole….It’s wonderful to hear from you. Yes, it is a sad fact that courteousness is a dying virtue. Being courteous is simply the act of being kind as you have so aptly pointed out by saying it is the act of considering others and their feelings. Hopefully more of us will get in touch with our own habits in this rushing world of ours. It good to remind ourselves how rewarding it feels when people are kind to us. At times, a gentle reminder in this area is all that we need so that we, in turn, will be kind to others. Bright blessings to you and yours! 🙂


Leave a Reply

