A Woman's Voice


THE THREE FACES OF EVE ~ November 23, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

MEMORY LANE

Over fifteen years ago, due to a job change by my husband, we decided to move to a small town. It had a population of about 900 people and was situated about a two-hour drive from the large city which had been our home for most of our life. At this time, our three daughters were not yet married, although one was already on her own.  The other two, nineteen year old twins, were full-time university students still living at home. I was working full-time at a major financial institution. From my point of view, this was what I considered to be a major life style change. We found an apartment for the girls, sold our house, quit our jobs and moved to this quaint little town. We lived there for six years. 

On looking back, I don’t know how we did it. It had a huge impact on all of us. Our girls found their independence after the usual trials and tribulations. My husband settled into his job and I did the best I could to fill the void in my life. This was the first time in several years that I didn’t work outside the home. I became involved in a variety of volunteer projects in order to amuse myself and fill my now long days. 

One of the things I decided to do, was take a few painting classes. I did not have an artistic bone in my body up to this point, and I had no idea what to expect. I bought my supplies and proceeded to try to learn how to be an artist. I didn’t go to many classes, but I still persisted in painting on my own. During the six-year period in this small town, I painted numerous pictures. Once we moved back to the big city just over ten years ago, I never painted again. 

When living in Pine Falls, my husband used to tease me and say that I was one of the most prolific painters he had ever seen. During this six-year period, I probably painted thirty-five pictures.  I never sold one painting, although, a few people were gracious enough to accept the odd gift.  Most paintings were “the pits” even from my own standards but there are a few that I cherish. These are three of them. 

This first painting symbolizes a “sorrowful child”. 

 

 

 

The second  one, a “shy youth”.

 

 

The third painting of, “a wiser older woman” is what I consider myself to be today.

It has taken many years and many personal trials and tribulations to arrive at this point in my life.

I call these portraits, “The Three Faces Of Eve” because they show the distinct facets and faces of my personality and the stages I have gone through to become who I am today.  Each of us has many different facets to our personalities. I am not alone. These three distinct faces demonstrate my own personal growth. They are actually an x-ray view of me.  I have used a unique and creative way to paint a self-portrait. I have chosen to paint myself from the inside out to demonstrate my maturation process. 

We all have hidden talents. It took me a long time to realize what some of mine might be. Have you had a good look at yourself lately? Are you tapping into your creative abilities? What does your x-ray look like?  Our outside image or persona may be very different from our x-ray view. True growth is discovering whom we really are and having both the courage and the freedom to express it. This experience has been very liberating for me and one I  have learned to truly appreciate.

 

12 Responses to 'THE THREE FACES OF EVE ~ November 23, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THE THREE FACES OF EVE ~ November 23, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    Miss D! you are quite talented! I love your paintings and I love your article. I think as I get older I ponder more the “faces” of me. Sometimes I think I didn’t even really start waking up until about 40.

    I think my newly discovered interest is writing. Music, cooking and crafts have been life long hobbies and passions for me, but the writing is new. It’s what has come to me after the adoption of my daughter fell through I had to almost re-learn how to breathe and I re-learn how to hope. I struggled to find a way to think about my life going forward, without a family, that wasn’t empty. Though I didn’t feel hope I wanted it. I was helping a friend set up a blog for her business and wanted to set up a ‘test’ one, for lack of a better thing to ‘test’ with I made ‘Hope Rising’. Since then I write every night before I go to bed, because the nights were the hardest and forcing my last thoughts to be of hope changed how I slept. It has been life changing I don’t know where I would be without my little hope blog.

    So I think, in the way that you did not set out to be a painter, but painting found you in a time and place where you needed comfort, writing seems to have found me.

    I have a brother and sister that are actually writers. They know the rules of grammar, they punctuate appropriately, they introduce, develop and conclude. I’m not sure I do any of that correctly, so I don’t really call myself a writer. I’m just someone who writes! Just like you don’t call yourself an artist, though looking at the paintings, I don’t know why .. they are stunning!

    thanks for the article.

    I have been sort of moonlighting since the beginning of Oct and am behind on all my reading, but this weekend I look forward to getting caught up with every one’s writing.

    I’m so glad I started with this article. Thanks for the nudge. It’s a great story, as always!

    • hope_rising said,

      woops! I’m almost forgot! LLL from HTH !

      have a great day!


      • Thanks Hope for reading this post. This one is very near and dear to my heart and for some reason it meant so much to me for “ewe” to read it!

        Thanks for sharing so much about yourself and my heart was sad to hear about the adoption of your daughter falling through. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy work schedule to touch base with me. Take care kiddo! HTH from LLL Miss D 🙂

  2. Steven Fivecats said,

    Hi Dolores,
    You are a lady of many talents… I too love your paintings. If you can find the time, do some more. That is my problem, finding the time between the real job, home stuff and writing. Art kind of gets squeezed out. Hopefully I’ll be doing some in the future. Did a small one just a few days ago to get back into it. But anyway, this is a great post.


    • Hi Steven,
      Thank you so much, not only for visiting my site but for your encouraging words as well. I know what you mean about trying to fit our artisitc talents into our busy lives. You never know, one day I may return to painting. For now, I seem to be so busy concentrating on my writing. Who would of thought…at one time I thought I had no talents? :).


  3. Hi Steven,
    Thanks so much for not only visiting my site but for your encouraging words as well. I know what you mean about not having time to explore all our artistic talents with the busy lives we lead. Who would have thought?? At one time I thought I had no talents. 🙂


  4. I love your paintings and the message they relate about your personal growth. I agree that your post is wonderful and reveals you as a woman of many talents. You should always follow your heart and your dreams… God often reveals himself to us through our creative endeavors.
    Blessings always,
    Susan


  5. Susan,
    Thanks so much for your lovely comments. I very much agree that God reveals himself in some of the most creative and at times unexpected ways. Our Creator very much suits his name. 🙂

  6. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Great article!! Your paintings look just as good photographed!! Painter, Writer…what next???


    • Thanks Lorraine…it seems that we all have many talents. It would seem that we only need the time and desire to investigate what they actually are. I’m so grateful to have found a few of mine! 🙂


  7. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog and gave me the link to yours! There are so many interesting and wonderful things to read here! In dealing with depression I don’t like the main focus (of my blog) to be about the difficulty of it but rather on what can inspire us out of our darkness. We must focus on the positive even when we don’t fee like it – because we become our thoughts.

    What I love about this post is how you found your inner artistic talent even though you didn’t think you had an “artistic bone in your body” …. Your portrait “Shy Youth” is absolutely amazing – especially for someone “discovering their talent” – This is one consistent question I’m always asking myself – what TALENTS do I have? I know God gave me SOMETHING to be good at – I just haven’t figured it out yet! 🙂


    • Thanks to you too for visiting my site. I really enjoyed visiting yours as well! I’m sure you have many undiscovered talents. In time…..:)


Leave a Reply

