A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Forgiveness ~ November 20, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

“Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”  ~ Ephesians 4:32 

I love this biblical quote. It demonstrates to me that I am to forgive others “just as” Christ has forgiven me. Perhaps, I see things a little differently than some people when it comes to forgiveness but I would like to take this opportunity to explain my views. I know it has been said that we will not be forgiven “until” or “unless” we forgive others. However, according to the above biblical quote, I believe that I can also go to God as a sinner and seek forgiveness for myself from Him. When I experience His generous gift of  forgiveness and mercy, I then learn to forgive others in the same way that I have been forgiven. In other words, I am emulating God’s forgiveness.

I believe God sets the ultimate example of forgiveness by dying on the cross for my sins and I have the option of going humbly to Him and accepting His forgiveness. He’s the Teacher, not me. I personally need to learn from the Master. It’s not me showing God how I forgave so that I may be forgiven, but rather, it is God showing me how to forgive by first forgiving me for my sins.

In my situation and perhaps in other’s as well, by following His holy actions I am better equipped to forgive others because I have learned from the greatest Forgiver of all times. When we accept Jesus as our personal Savior, we not only want to forgive, it becomes a way of life as we follow in Jesus’ footsteps and forgive others as we have been forgiven by God Himself.   In essence, I have chosen to look at my own need for forgiveness first instead of looking at the need to forgive others in order to be forgiven. Once I see my own weaknesses and ask for God’s forgiveness, I am better able to accept the weaknesses of others and forgive them theirs.

“Bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.” ~ Colossians 3:13

This third biblical quote by Matthew says it a little differently…more like the “until” or “unless” description of  forgiveness.  “For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.” ~ Matthew 6:14

Perhaps, either way we choose to look at the power of forgiveness, whether we repent and seek it, or whether we forgive others then seek it…if we end up at the foot of the Cross, we are ultimately forgiven our transgressions. I don’t think the act of forgiveness is about drawing a line in the sand or an either/or type of concept. It’s not about if you don’t do things the way I think they should be done, then it’s the wrong way. Our relationships with God are very personal because we are all unique individuals. With that in mind, it is wise to acknowledge that each relationship with God is as unique as our personalities. Therefore, it is necessary to respect each other and trust that God has a plan for each of us even if it is a bit different from someone else’s path. Our heavenly Father has taken our uniqueness into consideration when forming our relationship with Him and knows exactly how to draw us closer to Him. For that, I am eternally grateful!

 

2 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Forgiveness ~ November 20, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Forgiveness ~ November 20, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. Good stuff.
    Blessings,
    Jan


    • Thanks Jan…I appreciate your comment. I hope Wayne is back to normal as soon as he can possibly be. Bright blessings to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

