A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Best Friends ~ October 19, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

A Wo-Man’s Voice

The other day, my two-year old granddaughter told me that I was her “best friend”.  Wow…where does a two-year old hear such an expression?  Well, she has three older siblings and I’m sure she heard it from one of them when they were talking with their friends.

I was very touched when she made this comment, although, I’m not so sure she knew exactly what she was saying.  Young children, usually go to great lengths and have much need for a best friend. It’s all part of the growing up process. I’m pretty sure we have all been there.

As the years have gone by, I’ve come to realize that the girlish need for a best friend no longer exists.  My “best friend” is my husband and all my female friends are just that, my friends.  I love them, enjoy them, and I relish the relationships that we share.

Over the years as part of the maturation process, I have changed my focus.  For many years now, my goal in life has been “to be” a best friend rather than “to have” a best friend based on some insecure need of mine. In doing so, I have surrounded myself with a wonderful group of people, both female and male.  I always try my “best” to be a true and loyal friend. I have every desire to take their feelings into consideration.  Hopefully, one day my two-year old granddaughter will realize that I am truly her best friend because I love her with all my heart.  Isn’t that what being a “best friend” is all about? I sure hope so because my friends mean the world to me.

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Friends are an indispensable part of a meaningful life. They are the ones who share our burdens and multiply our blessings.”  (Beverly Lahaye)

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

12 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Best Friends ~ October 19, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Best Friends ~ October 19, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    what a cute picture! I must say!

    I agree so much, as I get older, what it means to be a friend is so different than it was when I was younger. I really cherish my girls now, they are like sisters to me. And you are right, it has become so important to me to be a good friend. I’m not sure when that happened exactly. I know quite a few years ago, in one of the darker times of life, (as we have all had) this one woman in my nieghborhood, who knew me more casually than as a friend was so kind to me and so generous, it was so obvious to me that she was specifically going out of her way to help me and be there for me.. ever since then I have tried to do that for my girls, to be as much of what they need as I can be! It really is very fun actually!

    A very wise woman once told me that when you are younger you want to be loved and as you get older, the truest sense of yourself comes when you give love … I have come to find her words were quite wise!

    great article, great pictures!


    • Hope…isn’t it wonderful to discover that there are actually many benefits that go with the aging process?
      It is the stage of life where true beauty moves from “the face to the heart” and gives such a youthful glow to all that search for and accept its benefits. I have no idea how old you are, but you sound like a very wise woman. Good stuff! 🙂

  2. Barb Newman said,

    Dolores,
    I love your focus shift from HAVING a best friend to BEING a best friend.
    I feel so blessed with my old friends but embrace the new ones as well.
    Thanks for another warm article….


  3. You are very welcome Barb.
    I think the shift from HAVING a best friend to BEING a best friend comes from much soul searching, inspiration, and the great desire to be a better person. I, too, am very grateful for my friends. Thanks for your lovely comments. 🙂

  4. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    I love the photo of your grandchildren, they are so cute!! I love being a good friend and over the years I do have my long term “best” friends and I love them dearly but I so love to make new friends and I too have realized how important it is to be a “best friend” to all my friends and I benefit greatly being on the giving end more than the receiving! I’ve met many of your friends Dolores and they are very fortunate to have you in their lives as a true friend!


    • Thanks Shirley,
      I love that picture too. Those two, are already like an old married couple. Sometimes they get along so well and other times, they fight like cats and dogs. I get such a kick out of what we can actually learn from our grandchildren even at such a young age. I am very honored to be called “best friend” by any one of them! Thanks for you comments. 🙂

  5. Ginny Hamlim said,

    Great post! My hubby is my best friend and I love being his best friend, too. 😉


  6. Thanks Ginny! It’s wonderful to hav a kindred spirit in this regard! 🙂

  7. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Very nice article Dolores. I remember Dad saying that if you could ever have one good friend in life you would be very lucky.I have been truly blessed with having so many beautiful friends.They come in all shapes and sizes, from Barry, to family,clients, dancers, red hatters,cloggers etc. Appreciating and valuing who they are and what they contribute has made their gift to me a true treasure. The time spent with each of them whether a few minutes or a few hours has brought total fulfilment to my life. As humans we need connections, these connections through out our lives play many roles. As we age these bonds become our rock and foundation! They are planted so we are never alone.


  8. Lorraine,
    You have expressed so beautifully the true meaning of friendship that there is not much to add. One thing I can say, is that sisters can also become true friends. You are one of those sisters! Thanks for your friendship! 🙂

  9. Susan said,

    Dolores, Your picture is adorable. I always seem to be a day late and a dollar short in reading posts, but I always enjoy yours. Having friends is so important at all stages in our lives, and I agree with you that as we grow older it is more about being a good friend than having a bff. This quote just sums up your wise words of wisdom: “A friend is one of the nicest things you can have, and one of the best things you can be”. ~Douglas Pagels
    Blessings always,
    Susan


    • Susan,
      Thanks so much. Don’t we just love those grandchildren of ours? I love the quote you have chosen to describe friendship. It’s perfect! And don’t worry about being late, I’m just so happy you dropped by. 🙂


Leave a Reply

