A Woman's Voice


MEMORY LANE ~ The Persistence Of The Spirit ~ October 17, 2011 by Andrea Cockerill

A Wo-Man’s Voice   

If you have ever been around children, you know how persistent they can be when they want your attention. All of my children let me know in their own way if they feel like they are not getting their fair share. Today it was my oldest daughter who told me loud and clear that her well for my attention was running low.

After filling my daughter’s well, I started thinking about how persistent our spirit can be when we are ignoring its guidance and passions. I have on many occasions put my spirit last on the list, but I am comforted with the fact that my spirit is going nowhere. No matter how long I ignore it, it is like a patient and trusted friend, waiting for my next phone call.

Our relationship with our spirit is like any other relationship that we honor in our lives. It needs our time in order for an intimate bond to be built. It is the difference between talking to one friend every few months and talking to another friend every few days. You may cherish both friends but it is the friend whom you talk to more often that is going to know the more intimate details of your daily life. This same principle applies to our spirit. If we form an intimate relationship with our spirit, we will be better able to understand and intuitively follow its subtle guidance system.

Your spirit promises you that it will never reject you. It is persistent but patient, and its sole goal is to lead you to the Divine. Forming a relationship with your spirit needs to be a conscious decision on a daily basis, but the rewards span a life time.

Namaste (I see the Divine in you which is also in me.)

Thank you Andrea! 

________________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

Continuous effort is the key to unlocking our potential”  (Black Elk, Native American)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

3 Responses to 'MEMORY LANE ~ The Persistence Of The Spirit ~ October 17, 2011 by Andrea Cockerill'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MEMORY LANE ~ The Persistence Of The Spirit ~ October 17, 2011 by Andrea Cockerill'.

  1. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    I love your article Andrea! It is so ironic that often it is not until we are adults that we connect with our spirits. I think our world would be a different place if this was identified at an early age. It seems that this cannot be taught but with silence and intuition it is found! Thanks for your insight and sharing!!

    • Andrea Cockerill said,

      Thanks Aunty Lorraine and Aunty Shirley for all your support! It is so nice to connect with like minded women, especially when they are family!

  2. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Good Morning Andrea! Once again you’ve touched on a subject that is very close to my heart. In this very busy world we live in as women we deserve and need our daily chat with our “spirit”. A very dear friend of mine introduced me to some Native chants several years ago and the CD is called “The Awakening Spirit In Women”. Very beautiful and peaceful! Have a wonderful day and keep writing!!


Leave a Reply

