A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? ~ October 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

My daughter uses a neat expression when she notices that someone doesn’t appear to be up to snuff. She will say, “I wonder what’s eating Gilbert Grape!” Today I feel like Gilbert Grape and I am going to explain one of my pet peeves to you. Maybe it’s one of yours too.

First of all I want to start by asking a question. Is there such a concept as “reasonable expectations”? At times, I get frustrated by what appears to be a lack of response or reaction to a request or a question. Let me put it another way. Am I being unreasonable if I ask a question and expect an answer? I will give you a few other examples of what I mean even if they don’t all apply to me. Some may apply to you.

If someone gives you their word…is it reasonable to expect them to keep it?

If you send an email asking a question or questions ….is it reasonable to expect a response?

If you leave a message on someone’s answering machine….is it reasonable to expect them to return your call?

If you celebrate a person’s birthday with a gift or lunch…is it reasonable to expect them to acknowledge your birthday in some way, shape, or form?

If you have gone out of your way to help a person out (i.e. by helping them move for instance)….is it reasonable to expect that they might return the favor one day?

When a friend’s been sick and you’ve supported them by sending cards or gifts….is it reasonable to think they might wish you well when you’re ill?

These are just examples of a few possible questions to try to make my point.  I would love to know if you can identify with it. Do you ever suffer from “reasonable expectations”? You would make my day if you left a comment to let me know.

….And even if you don’t, it will still be fine by me because I am grateful that you are chilling out with me today. I think I’m going to turn that sour grape attitude of mine into a reason to celebrate. Your reading this post is a good place to start.

Aah, now…that feels so much better! Most of us have heard the adage about being handed a lemon in life and turning it into lemonade. Hey, we all know what we can turn grapes into!  Cheers to you all!

 

2 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? ~ October 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? ~ October 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. laurette godard said,

    Cheer up. Tomorrow will be better.


    • Thanks Laurette….it’s always good to hear from you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

