A Woman's Voice


MEMORY LANE ~A Simple Faith ~ October 8, 2011 by Susan Earl

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

A long time ago, I made a decision to become a “Christian”. To me it seemed a simple step. I was only ten; all I had to do was what I saw many others before me do. I would walk down the aisle of our church, talk to the pastor, and declare that today I was saved. I had a simple faith, the belief of a child. My belief was innate. God was and always had been God. An omnipresent part of my every day world. I didn’t question how or why the stars were in the sky. I just knew and believed that God placed them there to sparkle beautifully just for me.

From the time I was born, I attended church on Sunday mornings, Sunday nights, and Wednesday evenings. God lived at church and he always came home with me each time I left the church building. I knew I carried God in my heart. It had to be true because every Sunday we sang “Into my heart, into my heart, come into my heart Lord Jesus”.  I believed those words with the fierce belief of a child, never wavering in the “shadows of doubt”.

My life was by no means perfect, and I was by no means perfect. Many of my life’s experiences should have shaken my faith; my belief in God’s unfailing love. Yet, even through the darkest parts of my life, I always knew; always felt, God’s presence surrounding me and guiding me to make the “right” choices.  I only needed to wait upon that still, quiet voice whispering within me. Sometimes I chose to shut out the voice, and I would stumble frequently. Nevertheless, God’s loving presence would still be there, helping me pick up the pieces and begin again.

Throughout the years, I’ve heard testimonies from friends, co-workers, and even strangers who declare they have never heard the word of God, nor set foot in a church. Some are hungry to hear about God, while others turn a deaf ear to the word. I know I’m one of the lucky few because my faith stems from a firm foundation: my mother and her sisters. My mom kept us actively engaged in church, as well as through her music.  She wrote many songs that carried the message of God’s love to all who heard them. Although she spoke at many meetings, I believe God’s gift in her life was writing songs of inspiration. She and her sisters traveled to many places together and each in their own way shared God’s love with all they met.

My mother’s gift of writing has also been gifted to me. It is my hope, my prayer that through my words on the page of a book, those in need of healing, of knowing God, will be drawn into his fold. My desire is that as others read my novel, they will come to understand that God has always been beside them throughout their whole life, just waiting for them to stop and listen to that still, soft voice. And I pray that they too will accept Christ with the simple belief and faith of a child.

One last thought before I go. I’d like to share a special memory I have regarding one of my mom’s songs.  Her first album (yes, album in those days!) was released when my daughter was two. She heard the songs almost every day and sang along with her Gramma’s record. Around the time she turned six, as she was playing happily with her friends on the playground, she suddenly rushed over to me, her arms folded irately, and declared, “C. told me there’s no such thing as a rainbow of love!”  I assured her there was, and she stated, “I knew I was right!”  Then she charged back to her friends and “straightened” them out.

This example only illustrates the simple faith and belief a child has that God is covering them with his covenant, his rainbow of love. I’d like to share just a verse from my mom’s song “Covenant of Love”.

“God’s love is so wonderful, his peace so serene, I walk in green pastures, I drink in his stream. A river that’s flowing with his grace from above, I’m covered in his rainbow of love. The rainbows of promise God gave to man, he called it his covenant that would forever stand. When I see a rainbow in the clouds up above, then I know that I’m covered in his rainbow of love.”

                                                 ~ Nita Owen ©1982

As Christians we are commanded to “Go forth and spread the good news”. I hope I have accomplished this, and that today you have felt God’s love through the power of the written word.

Blessings to all,

Susan K. Earl, author of Moon Dance ~ a novel

Thank you so much Susan for sharing such an inspirational story with us.

Website – http://susanearl.tatepublishing.net

Blog Site –http://moondancenovel.blogspot.com

 

10 Responses to 'MEMORY LANE ~A Simple Faith ~ October 8, 2011 by Susan Earl'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MEMORY LANE ~A Simple Faith ~ October 8, 2011 by Susan Earl'.


  1. Susan, I pray your novel does what you want it to do. We are both writng for the same reasons, and I pray we both can do our parts in going forth and spreading that good news through our writing. May God bless you and your endeavors. This is beautifully written. Blessings, Barb

    • susanearl said,

      Thank you, Barb! I pray this as well, and I know that God is working through us to spread his word and his love to others. It is still difficult for me to not cry when I hear or read the words of my Mom’s songs, even though it’s been nine months since she went home to be with her Lord. But she has left a great legacy behind her and it is a gift to me to still hear her voice and be enveloped in her love. (Sorry off topic)
      Blessings Always,
      Susan


  2. What a lovely armful of memories you’ve shared, Susan! Like your Mother I used to play those albums with wonderful music, and even had the 45’s during their day!:) But this song you shared a verse of, “Covenant of Love” is
    beautiful. I’m glad your daughter
    made sure her friends knew it too.
    Blessings to you and your work ahead.

    • susanearl said,

      Much thanks, Diane. “Covenant of Love” is one of my favorite songs my mom wrote. And I’m very grateful for the legacy of love which she has left to my family and all who knew her.
      Blessings,
      Susan

  3. Mary Haskett said,

    Hi Susan,

    What a lovely testimony of God’s grace. You certainly demonstrated the importance of a strong family tie with the Good Lord at the centre of your lives.
    Every blessing
    Mary

    • susanearl said,

      Hi Mary,
      Thank you for your kind words. God is truly the center and bond that has held our family together. I am so blessed that even after many ups and downs in life, my family is still firmly together and their faith in God stands strong.
      Blessings to you and yours,
      Susan

  4. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Hi Susan,

    What a beautiful testimony of your love for God and for your Mother! I enjoyed your article and your Mother’s song, how very beautiful. When I see rainbows I always feel God’s love and protection but “Covenant of Love” is a much better way of looking at God’s love for us, thank-you for sharing!

    God Bless Shirley

    • susanearl said,

      Thank you, Shirley. I have always felt very connected to God whenever I am in nature or see his wonders to behold, as in the rainbow. I am very blessed to have my mom’s gift for writing passed on to me. I hope that my words will bless others as hers have to so many throughout her lifetime.
      Blessings always,
      Susan

  5. susanearl said,

    Hi Dolores,
    Thank you for posting my article again. It is such an honor to be featured on “A Woman’s Voice”. You are such a treasure and a dear friend.
    Blessings,
    Susan


    • Hi Susan,
      It’s my pleasure to repost your wonderful article. It touched my heart and I’m sure it touched the hearts of all my readers. May God continue to grant you his choicest blessings my dear friend in Christ.


Leave a Reply

