A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Sadness ~ October 6, 2011by Dolores Ayotte

A Wo-Man’s Voice

Sometimes, I feel an overwhelming sense of sadness.  My initial reaction is to try to push it away. I find it difficult to dwell in this experience.  I then realize that if I sit in this moment and think through what is causing the sadness, I learn to make more sense of it.

Perhaps I have every reason to be sad upon hearing that my good friend has been diagnosed with cancer or that someone I love is going through a difficult time.  It is okay for me to accept and embrace this sadness as I work through the pain of what others are experiencing.  It is not necessary for me to push it away.  It is only necessary for me to pray for these people and know that the moment will pass.

Sadly to say, it may take a long time for their moment to pass, so the least I can do is share in their suffering by not only being sad for them but by praying for them as well.

Today is the birthday of my deceased Dad. He would have been eighty-nine years old today. It’s been over nineteen years since he’s passed away and I still miss him!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

A gem cannot be polished without friction, nor a man perfected without trials.” (Source Unknown)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

12 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Sadness ~ October 6, 2011by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Sadness ~ October 6, 2011by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. clearbluewindow said,

    Dolores,

    I am sending best wishes and positive thoughts out for your friend, her family and yourself. We found out last Thursday that my partner’s mother has breast cancer, so I can empathise completely with your feelings of sadness. I am seeing first-hand the effects of such news on, not only the person who has been diagnosed, but also on those who are close to them.

    I sincerely hope that your friend makes a full and speedy recovery.

    Kelly


  2. Kelly,
    Thanks so much for sending your positive thoughts and best wishes for my friend. I’ve been thinking of Jan and praying for her as she faces her surgery today. I’m eager to hear news from her husband later today.

  3. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Sorry to hear that Jan is going thru such a difficult time. She will get stronger because God is in all of our lives and walks with us thru our darkest moments. Sadness is like many other negative emotions….when we experience them we often are not sure how to react.Just like the seasons we have good and bad and they make us who we are. Praying, solitude and reflection turns low times into seeds for growth. You have done exactly this for Jan.I will keep her in my prayers.


    • Lorraine,
      Thanks for your kind thoughts and prayers for Jan. She continues to be strong and hopeful because of her faith and the support of her family and friends. I know she appreciates all the prayers.

  4. Andrea Cockerill said,

    I will pray for your friend and her family during this difficult time.


    • Thank you so much Andrea. I appreciate your prayers and I know Jan will too!

  5. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Dolores,

    I will keep Jan and her family in my prayers! I can so relate with the feelings of sadness and you’re so right about sitting in the moment and really thinking through what “Sadness” is all about! God is most certainly protecting Jan and her family at this very stressful time in their lives! Thank you for so freely sharing your feelings!

    Love Shirley


  6. Shirley,
    Yes, I know that you can relate to Jan’s experience with facing cancer after your own battle with it. I am sad that Jan and her family have to face such a painful experience but I also know they have great faith in God. Thanks for your prayers!

  7. Mary Haskett said,

    As I pray for my friend who is having surgery tomorrow for cancer in her bowel. I pray for your friend Jan. May both experience God’s peace.


    • Mary,
      Thank you very much for keeping my friend in your prayers. I will do the same for your friend. Therefore, we have made a full circle of friendship and prayer. Where two or more are gathered…

  8. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I will definitely keep your friends successful recovery in the forefront of my thoughts and prayers.

    I do understand the sadness for others, I think it’s hard to be human – experience love and not go through that from time to time. If at all possible, treat yourself with all the same tenderness you would a good friend. Make sure you get hugs, make sure someone is there to listen, take moments of quiet (perferably with a delightful cup of tea and a little cookie ( dipped in chocolate is most effective) ) … insert as much tenderness as possible in your day until this passes.

    I am behind in reading because of all my visitor.. but it seems by the update she is doing as well as expected… hopefully that is moving you through your sadness a little bit. I hope so.

    you and yours are in my thoughts and all my hopes!

    – here’s to hope girlfriend!


    • Hey Hope,
      Thanks so much for your thoughts, prayers, and good advice. I love it…especially taking quiet moments with a cup of tea and a little cookie dipped in chocolate. You’re a real sweetheart! 🙂


Leave a Reply

