A Woman's Voice


FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ The Weather Channel ~ September 19, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE by doloresayotte on September 19, 2011
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes in life I feel like I am a cross between Erma Bombeck with her wry sense of humor or Phyllis Diller and her silliness about her husband “Fang”.  To quote Phyllis, she states that “his fine hour lasted about a minute and a half.”  I sincerely hope that some of you know who these two admirable women are even though Erma has now left her legacy with us and Phyllis is still hanging in there. I love both these women because they have such delightful senses of humor and they have succeeded in making a lot of people laugh over the years.

How great is that when you can bring a smile to someone’s face, or light up their eyes with mirth, or get a burst of laughter that seems to come from the tips of their toes?  Oh…to bring such pleasure and joy to other human beings. What a wonderful goal to strive for and to emulate.  My hoping to be similar to these two well-known women is quite the aspiration.

When a couple retires, they get a good taste at developing the kind of sense of humor it truly takes to sustain a long time marriage and ride off into the sunset together.  During these retirement years, you have the opportunity to discover what your marriage vows are all about and what it really means to say “I do”.  When there is no one else to look at, you have plenty of time to have a better look at your lifelong partner. Some don’t make it after almost a life time together.  Just take a look at Al Gore and his wife Tipper. After forty years of marriage they bid each other adieu, even after that big smooch we observed on national television just a few short years ago.

You know when you’re retired for sure when you have the Weather Channel on for several hours during the day.  Your love is tested when you ask your husband about what kind of weather to expect and he looks at you, points to his forehead and asks, “Do you see a weathervane on my forehead?”

Hey, it could be worse.  I could have to look at the Weather Channel myself. I much prefer to delegate this small task to my husband instead.  You just can’t help but love this guy. He’s a real “stand up” kind of fellow but sometimes I think he should be a “sit down comedian”. Perhaps he is trying to emulate Jack Benny.  He never ceases to amaze me with his one liners. He probably wouldn’t mind using one of Jack’s famous quotes right about now.  Jack says, “My wife Mary and I have been married forty-seven years, and not once have we had an argument serious enough to consider divorce, murder, yes, divorce, never.”

My husband really does watch the Weather Channel but he insists he’s listening to the music!   What do you think?

 

13 Responses to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ The Weather Channel ~ September 19, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ The Weather Channel ~ September 19, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Pat said,

    Not only does my husband visit the weather channel frequently, but he also keeps a record of temperatures and precipitation. At least he’s learning to use Excel! And, like you, I would rather just ask my husband for a weather prediction than to look for it myself! It’s great to know that many of us choose to weather the few storms of marriage rather than to inflict on all our families and friends the havoc that separation and divorce can unleash.

  2. kay wielinski said,

    This wouldn’t be Fred would it??? I tend to think so…….
    One of the ‘words of the day’ was plutocracy – thought it described our government better than democracy—–after the clip we received from Fred – loved that utube song……..keep that for az.
    miss you two. kay


  3. Mine says, “Do I look like a weatherman?” I ask him instead of watching the weather channel, too. He always seems to know. Nice reminder of how important a sense of humor really is. Blessings, Barb


  4. We live right near the Gulf coast and hardly ever just “listen” to the weather, we do FEEL it, however! 🙂 Change to the News and see everything that is happening in Washington, DC and around our big wonderful world!

    I well remember Erma and her fun way of making you feel like you were her equal; she often appeared on the morning shows, and I read her last book THE OLDEST PROFESSION IN THE WORLD, and laughed myself silly. Phyllis has been a real card too, and I so agree that marriage changes when two people are together all the time. But it is something I enjoy and we can each do our own thing, with me it is writing, with my hubby it is some other hobby’s. But we are also near by to support and help one another, laugh and enjoy this new season of life. I do agree with your hubby, Dolores, and I have the easy listening staton of the TV on often….it is a great way to enjoy time together, with the background music of joy! 🙂 God Bless!

  5. Mary Haskett said,

    Well Dolores, I’m laughing recalling those funny women. And then remembering that yesterday as I worked at my copmputer I heard pleasant music coming from our living room. Guess what channel my husband was watching! and so intently too!

  6. Ginny Hamlim said,

    I chose to believe your hubby is listening to the music…lol. I say this because he’s such a great guy he would never tell a fib, right. 😉

    I love it “sit-down comedian.” Hahaha.

  7. hope_rising said,

    Dolores!

    I loved Erma Bombek, the first book of hers I read was ‘The Grass is Always Greener Over the Septic Tank’. I’ll be honest I don’t really remember the stories in the book, all I remember is how hard I laughed reading it. Thanks for the memory!

    Congrats on a long and beautiful marraige, it is an accomplishment I envy!

    enjoy!

  8. Barb Newman said,

    Dolores, I think you do light people”s faces with your wonderful articles….Thanks to you for sharing your warmth!


  9. Thanks so very much to all of you for your wonderful support and for lighting up my life with your comments! 🙂

  10. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    I loved it Dolor and I can so relate!! I also love this wonderful “blog” of yours and enjoy reading all of the “blogs” but also the comments are absolutely wonderful and uplifting!

    I can actually see Fred pointing to his forehead and making the comment about the weathervane and I was laughing out loud!!

  11. Nikki said,

    how great is that when you can bring a smile to someone’s face….I have to agree with this..as Mother Theresa said, peace begins with a smile….and looking at your picture…you have the nicest smile that always makes me feel good when I come here….☺

  12. audrakrell said,

    Dolores, this is a great post. I always love your writing. Humor is so important, it is absolutely what “gets us through”!


    • Thank you Audra! You are absolutely right….without a sense of humor, life would be very difficult indeed. I always have this wonderful image of God as a mirthful and benevolent Father that helps keep me going and makes my life all the more worthwhile. Bright blessings to you my dear friend in Christ.


Leave a Reply

