A Woman's Voice


FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Early Bird ~ September 8, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE by doloresayotte on September 8, 2011
Tags: , , ,

FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE 

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.”  (Maya Angelou)

Is it true?  Does the early bird really catch the worm?  Every morning, it’s the very same thing.  No matter what time I go to bed at night, my internal clock wakes me up at about 5:00 am.  In a sense, I should be annoyed and grumpy because a part of me would like to sleep in like other non morning people.  The other part of me loves this alone time.

I cannot tell you how productive I am the first thing in the morning.  I have anywhere between three to four hours before my husband saunters into the den with his morning cup of coffee.  I kind of feel sorry for him because after several hours of quiet, albeit productive time, I am ready to talk to someone.

He’s the only someone around and I’m sure he would like to press my “off” button this early in the morning.  Trust me, it is already late from my angle and I am eager to get started on the rest of my day.

I must admit that I have to “back off” just a little so my husband can have a few moments of relaxation to enjoy his cup of coffee and newspaper first thing in the morning just like I do even if it is over three hours later than me.  Hey, different personalities…it’s what keeps us challenged as we learn to respect each other’s differences.

Yup, early birds can get on some people’s nerves now and then.  I’m sure I rub my husband the wrong way once in a while and get on his “only nerve” with my morning chatter, but what the heck! We’re two older birds in this empty nest of ours and we can enjoy life the way we see fit.  We know how to work it out.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Personal relationships are the fertile soil from which all advancement, all success, all achievement in real life grows. “  (Ben Stein)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

8 Responses to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Early Bird ~ September 8, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Early Bird ~ September 8, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Barb Newman said,

    As always a cute little story Dolores.
    My husband arises earlier than I at the lake. He really enjoys his ‘alone’ time in the morning and I raelly appreciate arising to a nice cup of hot coffee ready for me!

  2. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    I can still see you sitting in the den in your lovely home in Pine Falls, silently reading or praying! When we visited I was always awake very early and would sneak downstairs not realizing that very first visit that you were already awake and had been for some time. I loved your home and all that it represented, peace, tranquility, love and pure relaxation. I will never forget those visits, they were a gift! As I recall things changed very quickly once the guys were up and around and I also recall it went from quiet to chatter very quickly, maybe it has something to do with men and our need to “inspire” them with all we know! Thanks Dolor for bringing these wonderful memories to mind!

  3. hope_rising said,

    I completely know what you mean. I am an early bird too! My alarm rings at about 4:30 am. The things I get done before the world wakes up is amazing.

    I get to work about 3 hours before everyone and that is really when I earn my money .. the rest of the day I get about the same amount of done.

    There are a whole bunch of us early birds. I see the same people getting coffee in the morning, at the gas station … so funny we all recognize each other and say hi, they are part of my everyday … but I hardly know them…

    but I know how they take their coffee! LOL

    totally cute article. Loved it!

    Is that your bird? …. very pretty!

  4. hope_rising said,

    Hey!

    did we rearrange the furniture here?

    wasn’t this blog pink yesterday?

    maybe? not?!

    I like it!

    o dear … I should go to bed!

  5. Audra Krell said,

    I really, really like the new look Dolores. As mom to three boys, there isn’t much pink in our house, so I’m a sucker for all things pink. But this looks really great, professional and clean. I also really like the bigger font. Way to go girl!


  6. Thank you very much for all your lovely comments! Thanks for the feedback on my new blog theme. I’m so glad you like it! Blessings to you all!

  7. Nikki said,

    this made me laugh…I have this image of the you chattering and full of life and Fred just waking up. ☺


    • Hey Nikki….you really are getting to know us. Yes, Fred is quite a character.
      This post really tells it like it is! 🙂


Leave a Reply

