A Woman's Voice


MEMORY LANE ~ My Son and His Guitar ~ September 7, 2011 by Audra Krell

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on September 7, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

A Wo-Man’s Voice ~ July 26, 2010

My guitar is not a thing.  It is an extension of myself.  It is who I am.”   So says the rocker Joan Jett.  But I have to believe differently; otherwise my son Keegan would be missing.

It’s not the first time he has been separated from his guitar. In 8th grade, he took it on a field trip to Catalina Island. He played campfire songs for his classmates. That was the year though, that Catalina burned.   “Mom, they’re evacuating us and we can’t bring any thing, even my guitar,” he yelled into the phone.   I hurt for him, but was so glad he was okay.

The following week, his guitar was returned, no worse for the wear.   A couple of months later he took the guitar to Mexico and played for the local kids.

Then the following two summers, he took it to Alaska and led worship at a camp for underprivileged children.  When he was 16, he brought crowds to their feet as they were “Free Fallin’” while he strummed the Tom Petty classic.

Then on Father’s Day, it was gone again. Two boys walked into the Church and took his beloved guitar. They walked down a busy street with it strapped on, and many of our friends saw them with it, not knowing it belonged to Keegan.

Keegan’s guitar is truly just a thing though. Rather than an extension, it is an expression.  The guitar itself isn’t  “who he is;” it simply reveals who God is.  He certainly misses his guitar, yet he doesn’t feel the pain of amputation. He is a servant- hearted boy and continues to serve God’s people with or without his guitar.

If God sees fit to return the guitar, what a beautiful reunion that will be. And if not, it’s because He has something even better for Keegan, who will then have something better for the Kingdom.

Thanks Audra for sharing the story of your son’s guitar.  I certainly hope that it finds its way back to Keegan yet again, but if not, I’m sure that God has something else in store for him. Audra Krell is a freelance writer and worship leader. She lives with her wonderful husband and their three talented boys in Scottsdale, Arizona. For more information please visit  http://www.Audrakrell.com 

 

13 Responses to 'MEMORY LANE ~ My Son and His Guitar ~ September 7, 2011 by Audra Krell'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MEMORY LANE ~ My Son and His Guitar ~ September 7, 2011 by Audra Krell'.

  1. Andrea Cockerill said,

    I loved your story about your son and his guitar, but what I was really impressed with is your writing. You are a great writer. Your level of writing has inspired me to keep practising at mine. Thanks.


  2. Oh Audra, I really hope whoever
    took it from your church will be kind enough to return it! That seems like such a special gift tht your son enjoys. I feel like it is something he will always be able to use for God’s glory. Such a blessing to others.

  3. Mary Haskett said,

    Audra, I liked the fact you point out Keegan’s guitar is just a “thing,” although I can imagine how upsetting it would have been to loose it that way. I’m sure God will honour you and Keegan for acknowledging that He-God is your focus
    Every blessing


  4. I pray his guitar is found and returned, but I’m glad he realizes it’s just A THING. It’s nothing without him and God’s gift to him. Whoever stole it won’t have that gift. How wonderful that such a young man is doing so much for God’s kingdom and knows the difference between things and people. Blessings, Barb

  5. Audra Krell said,

    Dolores, Thank you so much for having me today! Your readers are lovely and I thank all of you for your kindness and encouragement. Every blessing,
    Audra

  6. Sarah said,

    I like what you said about Keaton’s guiter not being an extension but an expression..and that he is a servant hearted boy….


  7. Thanks to all of you for reading this inspiring post by Audra.
    And…you are very welcome Audra. It was my honor to have you as a guest blogger. 🙂

    • hope_rising said,

      oo .. I am a guitarist and two of my guitars I have had for decades … I would be so heartbroken if they were taken.

      I have had one taken, and to this day I miss it. For me the relationship with the instrument is very personal. I definitely understand Joan Jett’s persepective. At the same time, I went on to continue to make music without it. Keegan will too, because the true gift is in him. The music is in him and he it will find a way to be expressed.

      So many famous guitars have been stolen, Hendrix, Janis Ian’s Martin D18, Paul McCartney, Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page ….. and they all went on to make incredible music without it … but I’m willing to bet they miss the one that got away. Keegan may too.

      The instrument of a musician is in so many ways a best friend ..

      I hope it comes back to you Keegan. If it doesn’t I am guessing from what I’ve read, his music will go on.
      That’s what really matters!

  8. Audra Krell said,

    Maybe someday my son will be added to list of the famous who have had their guitar stolen! : ) That was very interesting. It has definitely been like he’s lost his best friend….we’re still praying that it will be returned.
    I didn’t put this in the story, but we actually have a picture of the boys who took it, wearing it in a gas station, as they tried to purchase cigarettes. We are hoping that once school starts again, someone will recognize the boys in the picture.

    • hope_rising said,

      Audra!

      I was thinking that same thing! He has an excellent stage name for a guitarist! Keegan ….. he could be the person and the band name .. just like Daughtry! Can’t you just see it in lights now KEEGAN!

      that’s so funny you mentioned that, it was one of the first things I thought of when I read your article.

      here’s hoping !

  9. Audra Krell said,

    Love it! I will tell him about the Daughtry parallel. Watch for his name in lights, and someday he’ll tell his own story of his guitar from the stage.

  10. audrakrell said,

    Hi Dolores, thank you for reposting this. To follow up, we never found the gentlemen who took his guitar. About 4 months after it was stolen, we replaced it with a gorgeous new “friend” for Keegan. Since then, he has taken it to Slovakia where he held an open air concert at a tea house. It was standing room only, and four times the amount of people the tea house had ever seen. Keegan fell in love with the Slovaks and loved the chance to tell them about Jesus through his music. He is now at college, only been there three weeks and already plugged into a local church where he will lead junior high boys and hopefully be involved with the worship team. God is good.


    • Hi Audra….you are most welcome. It is my pleasure to repost this touching article.It is so wonderful to hear that Keegan found a new “friend” and went about sharing his gift with others. You have every reason to be proud of your son. I know you have two other sons that are following in his footsteps which can only add to your reward of setting a fine example for them. May God continue to grant you His choicest blessings!


Leave a Reply

