A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Self-Acceptance ~ September 5, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Isn’t it strange how we meet many people in life who appear to be so self-confident and poised?  Perhaps those who genuinely are, have no need to read articles like mine.  Maybe, you are one of these fortunate people.  I don’t know and more than likely I will never know unless you tell me otherwise.  Many of us are able to project an aura or image that implies we are more confident than we may actually be.

For those of you who may, at times, feel inadequate, insecure, know the meaning of fear, failure, and human weakness, then perhaps some of what I have to share may very well appeal to you.

My goal is to reassure you that you are not alone and it is okay to be human.  We are not all cut from the same cloth and we must make the best of the gifts that we have been given.  It is wiser to deal with negative feelings in order to help overcome them so as to better cope with life. Self-acceptance is the key.

Some stars in the heavenly sky, are bigger and brighter than other ones.  When the smaller stars join together they create the same dazzling effect as some of these larger stars.  Whether big or small, we all draw our Light from the same Divine Source.

“A Wo-Man’s Voice” has been created to connect some of the newly discovered stars, including me, to create our own Milky Way.

Thanks to all of you for accepting to shine this way and for sharing your light with others who may be just starting to shine. What a wonderful and generous way to light up the sky.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“An obvious fact about negative feelings is often overlooked. They are caused by us, not by exterior happenings. An outside event presents the challenge, but we react to it. So we must attend to the way we take things, not to the things themselves.”  (Vernon Howard)

6 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Self-Acceptance ~ September 5, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Self-Acceptance ~ September 5, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. So beautifully put, Dolores!
    I think often we do project the image of what we are or are most of the time. But I would have to be close to someone to share something personal and what was hurting me, or I was going through. And we have to trust God to change that hurt or pain, and I think staying positive around others helps us too! God Bless, my friend!

  2. Mary Haskett said,

    So beautifully expressed Dolores. I’m certainly one who experiences doubt and self worth at times. Thank you for your encouraging perspective on the whole matter.

  3. hope_rising said,

    Dolores,

    I love this article. I was particularly drawn to this statement

    “We are not all cut from the same cloth and we must make the best of the gifts that we have been given”

    That really resonated with me. I am so goal oriented and have spent most of my life looking ahead and working towards something. Lately, that tide is changing and I am focusing more on what I do have, right here and right now. But your words push it a step further and ecourages to make the most of those things.

    beautiful article.

    thanks


  4. Thank you Diane, Mary, and Hope for relating to my message and also for your encouraging words.

    One of the hardest things for me has been to learn to accept myself and to be grateful for who I am, “right here, right now”.

    It’s been a life long process and I can still stumble. With your help and encouragement, it makes it much easier. Now, I know I am not alone as we make this journey together. Once again, thanks to all of you!

  5. audrakrell said,

    Love your writing and the quote at the end. It’s so easy to blame others and situations for the way we act and feel. Some make a lifetime hobby out of doing that. It is important to tend to our responses!


    • Thanks Audra for your kind words. I agree with you wholeheartedly that it is so very easy to blame others rather be responsible and accountable for our own actions. In the end, however, I must admit that what appears to be the easy choice usually ends up creating a lot of personal hardship. Lessons in life sure can take their toll if we don’t learn from them!


Leave a Reply

