A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ AND THE WINNER IS…..Not Me! ~ September 1, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Several months ago, my husband persuaded to enter a book writing contest.  My initial response was “no way”.  First of all, I never realized that you had to pay to enter such contests. There was a submission entry fee.  It may not be this way in all book contests but it was in this particular one. I was naïve enough to think that people nominated you after they read your book.  Also, this was my very first book, and I knew that there was a lot of room for improvement.  My husband rationalized that if I didn’t enter than for sure I wouldn’t win. Therefore, even if it was a long shot I entered the contest against my better judgement.

You guessed it!  I lost.  Since then, I have heard and read several comments to the effect that merely having written a book makes us all winners. It has been said that there were no losers in this contest because we have accomplished a great feat by having the courage to enter our books in the contest.

Well, yes and no. This rationalization does not totally make sense to me. It sounds more like an appeasement.  Why enter a contest in the first place if there is no honor or reward in winning?  If we are all winners even if we lose, than maybe the reverse is true and the winners are losers just like the rest of us.

“I’m Not Perfect And It’s Okay” is written in an imperfect way much like its author, me.  I’m sorry to admit that there are a few typos in it that my editor, my proofreaders and I missed.  Oops…I guess they are not perfect either.  I heard an expression just the other day.  It was about being “beautifully imperfect”.  That’s my goal, to be beautiful despite my imperfections.

However, in the end, it is my name on the book and I am ultimately responsible for its content and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Yes, maybe it is not as well written or as polished as some other books, but what the heck; I gave it my best shot.  The negative consequence of not winning the contest will not deter me.  It will only suffice to make me more determined.  I’m like a dog with a bone and I’m not going to give up that easy. 

Although, I will say this, no matter how hard anyone may try to flower up the facts, along with many other authors, I lost and some other authors won. There were far more losers than winners. I will not take that away from the winners by saying there were no losers in this book writing contest because I am one of them. I lost, I know it, and I’m not afraid to admit it.  I’m not afraid to admit this either.  It mattered…in fact, it mattered a lot more than I thought it would.  I have a competitive spirit and it’s no fun to lose. I’m sure that it mattered to the winners too!

Therefore, on that note I would like to congratulate all the winners.  It feels so wonderful to win, don’t you think? Bravo to you all!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

Achievement is not always success, while reputed failure often is.  It is honest endeavor, persistent effort to do the best possible under any and all circumstances.” (Orison Swett Marden)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

6 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ AND THE WINNER IS…..Not Me! ~ September 1, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ AND THE WINNER IS…..Not Me! ~ September 1, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Andrea Cockerill said,

    If we care that we didn’t win something, I think that it is great, because it is just our spirit’s way of saying that this particular thing is important and means something to us. I also agree that those people who “win” based on their efforts should be celebrated because when it is our own turn, we will want to be celebrated too!


    • I agree Andrea…people don’t usually enter contests to “not” win. When we do win, it gives us a reason to celebrate. It also creates the occasion to acknowledge and celebrate when others win. It fosters the opportunity to share in their joy and sense of accomplishment! 🙂

  2. Sherry Gore said,

    I love this, and hope to be a frequent reader here! Thank you, Dolores. This particular post is especially meaningful to me. I found quite a few errors after the fact too, in my own book. Now I can stop feeling faint every time I think about it. I’ll just fix them on teh next printing!:)

  3. Sherry Gore said,

    See – I do need an editor!

  4. audrakrell said,

    I always appreciate your honesty Dolores, it’s what draws me to your writing. I also love your never quit attitude. Go after that next contest!


    • Why thank you Audra…your words of support and encouragement are always so refreshing to me. Bright blessings to you and yours! 🙂


Leave a comment