A Woman's Voice


FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Silence Is Okay ~ August 25, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE by doloresayotte on August 25, 2011
Tags: , , ,

I married my high school sweetheart.  No, we weren’t the prom king and queen.  As a matter of fact, he actually got chosen and I didn’t.  He was so gallant that he refused this honor because he didn’t want someone else by his side to share in this teenage moment.

It’s seems like a lifetime ago that we were playing the dating game in our eleventh grade classroom. My high school sweetheart grabbed my attention right at the onset.  Boy…he was one quiet guy and I sure made up for his silence.

Now, over forty years later, he is a little more talkative and I am a lot less.  Although, I still can outdo my husband, I have nowhere near as much to say.  I find that we have long moments of silence in our home and it’s not one bit awkward.  We’ve discovered that we can still be in each other’s company and provide a sense of comfort with silence. I like it and so does he.  The pressure to fill the silence has been removed a long time ago as we embrace each other in this wonderful and pleasant way.

Yes…silence is okay. In fact, in most instances I have come to cherish it and my husband is still gallant enough to “not” admit this truth. 

I may not have been chosen to be the prom queen but I’ve pretty well been treated like one ever since.   42 years and hoping for more! Happy Anniversary Fred!

___________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Harmony is one phase of the great law whose spiritual expression is love.”  (James Allen)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

11 Responses to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Silence Is Okay ~ August 25, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Silence Is Okay ~ August 25, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Kathy Eberly said,

    Very well said! Sometimes you don’t have to say anything to be heard!


  2. Silence really is golden! 😉


  3. Silence is OK. Sometimes it’s best. The very best.

    Thanks for your thoughtful post. 🙂

  4. Audra Krell said,

    I suspect you’ve always been his princess and always will be. My husband and I met when I was 15 and he was 17. Different high schools, same college and the rest is history! Love your comments about silence, it’s not because we don’t have anything to say, it’s because it doesn’t even need to be said. The other person just knows!

  5. Ginny Hamlim said,

    Beautifully expressed and in so few words. 😉

    • Laurette Godard said,

      Beautifully done. I sure wish I could write like that.
      Laurette

  6. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Yes Silence is GOLDEN!! With or without a partner when one takes the time to be alone true peace can be found. If this can be done in relationships it makes it even better. Two people have peace instead of one!!! Thanks for sharing Dolores!!


    • Thanks so much to each and everyone one of you for taking the time to read my post and for your thoughtful comments too. 🙂

  7. Jo said,

    I like your post. Good job!

  8. kay wielinski said,

    Happy Anniversary – Enjoyed your post

    Kay


    • Thanks Kay….42 years. It’s kind of hard to believe!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

