A Woman's Voice


FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Old “Black Thumb” ~ August 24, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE by doloresayotte on August 24, 2011
Tags: , ,

When I wrote my first book, I quickly stated that I was “no author” in the introduction.  Some may find this a strange comment coming from a person who was in the processing of writing a book.

At that time, my goal was to reach out to people to help prevent them from experiencing what I had been through with my bouts of serious depression.  I was simply a “greenhorn” when it came to any kind of writing, so therefore, I didn’t claim to be an author.  I merely considered myself to  be a person reaching out to help others.  I wanted to touch as many lives as possible and I didn’t know any other way except by the written word.

My gardening fame falls into much the same category.  I’m “no gardener” but I sure have been trying all my life to be one.  My husband can attest to this fact because he appears to be right there by my side.  Although, he claims he is “no gardener” himself, the two of us persist in our endeavor to be the best at maintaining our backyard so it can be as picturesque as possible. 

As the years have gone by, I know that at some point we crossed the line and can probably now call ourselves gardeners. The term, old “black thumb” that my son-in-law first teasingly called me when he observed my lack of gardening skills may no longer apply.  He has now admitted that I’m actually better at it than he initially thought me to be. The proof’s in the picture.  I now have evidence to show it.

I kind of feel the same way about my writing.  I may have started off by stating that I was “no author” but with perseverance and dogged determination, I must admit I’m becoming one.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“I do not think there is any other quality so essential to success of any kind as the quality of perseverance.  It overcomes almost anything, even nature.”  (John D. Rockefeller)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

12 Responses to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Old “Black Thumb” ~ August 24, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE ~ Old “Black Thumb” ~ August 24, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. Dolores,
    I’m sorry to hear about the depression you went through, and I can relate to that! But how wonderful you progressed from a black thumb to a green thumb and
    know how to enjoy gardening and seeing the results of your labors!
    I’m afraid I’ll always be a “brown thumb,” but like you I can also see the progress in the work I write. It amazes me that some folks can’t think of things to say when it all seems to be so easy for me….BUT, then I remember the gardening you just spoke about; and that sure isn’t an easy thing for me, in fact I can’t do it at all now.

    Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

  2. Andrea Cockerill said,

    What a great post! Becoming better at something is a process, and it is only when you look back can you see how far you have come.

  3. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Yes,you defintly do have a “green thumb” Dolores and yes you are an “author”! I suppose they go hand in hand when you think about it, gardening is relaxing and it is during this time of relaxation that our thoughts focus on the bright side of life even as we pull out the weeds and many of those thoughts end up on paper where once again as you edit your books and “blogs” you are pulling out the weeds and the end result is a marvelous manicured garden and well written books and articles. Bravo!!

  4. Audra Krell said,

    And the truth will set you free! Now that you admit that you’re an author and a gardener you are free to be everything God wants you to. And your son-in-law cracked me up this morning, I love teasing people with names just like that!

  5. Ginny Hamlim said,

    I enjoy reading your words and today I had the pleasure of seeing your garden.

    I’d say you’re an author who enjoys gardening. ;0

  6. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Very nice article Dolores!! I think we are always green everytime we learn. Ironically a “Green Thumb” means you are good at it and you certainly are!!Thank goodness we keep trying new things so that we can learn, grow and continue to be green!!!Your garden looks beautiful!!

  7. Lori Denis said,

    Great post, I can really relate to it! : )


    • I would like to thank you all for your encouraging words and support. You’re great! 🙂


  8. It’s amazing how we can perceive ourselves in a certain light while others have a better opinion of us. Many of us authors suffer from bouts insecurity, especially when a new book is released!


    • Morgan,
      Your words really hit home with me. As a fairly new author, I have suffered from bouts of insecurity and question myself about the quality of my work. I think that is why any positive feedback means so much to all new authors. It validates our reasons for writing. It’s so very true too that we are much harder on ourselves than others which is why any kind words mean so much to us. Thank you for yours today!

  9. Cara said,

    Thank you for the encouragement, Dolores!

    Your garden is beautiful, in a number of ways. I think God is the Redeemer of black thumb syndrome, and your testimony is solid proof of that fact. I completely relate, and I appreciate your humility and honesty.

    Blessings today!
    Cara


    • Cara,
      Welcome to A Woman’s Voice. Thank you so much for your kind words of support and encouragement. I like your comment about God being the Redeemer of black thumb. I truly feel at peace and so close to God as I tend to my garden. Bright blessings to you!


Leave a Reply

