A Woman's Voice


I’M NOT PERFECT AND IT’S OKAY ~ Thirteen Steps To A Happier Self ~ Chapter 5 ~ July 29, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

CHAPTER FIVE ~ He Who Laughs, Lasts!

Over the last several years, my husband and I have had a neat arrangement. He usually is not a man of many words. I am a morning person, and he is not. When we walk in the morning, he says very little. On many occasions he has told me to just keep talking and says that he will let me know when he doesn’t agree with me. So he must be agreeing with me in most instances because he usually just keeps moving along in silence. According to Wilma Askinas, “Sometimes you have to be silent in order to be heard.”[i] Publius Syrus recommends, however, to “let a fool hold his tongue and he will pass for a sage.”[ii] Either way you look at it, I must admit that I already know what he does or doesn’t agree with. If I want to get him to talk, I just press one of his buttons, but most of the time I hear his silence and know exactly what it means…


[i] “Wilma Askinas quotes,”
Thinkexist.com, http://thinkexist.com/quotes/wima_askinas/.

[ii] “Publius Syrus quotes,”
QuotationsBook, http://quotationbook.com/quotes/36269/.

Once again my dear readers, I thank you for taking some time out of your busy lives to spend some of it with me. Take gentle care and may God grant you His choicest blessings!

Amazon USA

Amazon CANADA

Tate Publishing & Enterprises

Barnes and Noble

4 Responses to 'I’M NOT PERFECT AND IT’S OKAY ~ Thirteen Steps To A Happier Self ~ Chapter 5 ~ July 29, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I’M NOT PERFECT AND IT’S OKAY ~ Thirteen Steps To A Happier Self ~ Chapter 5 ~ July 29, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. I love this D…I love Fred’s comment to you and how the two of you accept and walk together in ways that work so well….great message on the power of silence.


    • Hi Nikki….thanks so much for your recognition of how a couple can be there for each other even in silence. Being in tune and in step with each other is what really counts in any relationship. Love and acceptance is the key! Blessings to you kiddo!


  2. This shows two people who really know one another 🙂 and sometimes silence is golden and peaceful 🙂 Blessings, BJ


    • Barb….you are absolutely right. After being married all these years (42 on Aug. 23rd), we really know that silence can be golden and oh so peaceful. I am ever so grateful for these golden years together and I thank God everyday. Bright blessings to you and thanks for stopping by! 🙂


Leave a Reply

