A Woman's Voice


Angry WTC Victim Who Survived Speaks Out ~ July 15, 2011 by Nicole Simpson

Posted in BLOG HOPPING by doloresayotte on July 15, 2011
Tags: , , , , ,

Nicole Simpson is a survivor of 911. She has been a previous guest writer on A Woman’s Voice. Today, I share my space with Nicole once again in order to give her the opportunity to be heard. That’s what A Woman’s Voice is all about. Please feel free to leave a comment after Nicole’s article. I know she would love to hear from you!

The definition of victim is a person harmed, injured, or killed as a result of a crime, accident, or other event or action.  I am a victim of the attacks on the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001.  I worked on the 73rd floor and was still in Tower II on the 44th floor when the building was hit.  I am totally disgusted by the blatant disregard the media and the government has shown for my life.

What will it take for people who walked away from the buildings but lost their lives to receive compassion and empathy?  It was announced that this year, there is only room for victim’s families to attend the annual anniversary ceremony.  I take issue with that statement because not only am I a victim, I have been continually victimized for the last ten years.  Survivors have been ignored.  We have suffered mentally, physically and economically.  We have had to relive the horrible experience daily for ten years while significant attention has been given to the deceased victim’s families and first responders.

What about me?  What about my family?  After ten years of suffering in silence, I truly thought attention would finally be given to people like me.  With the passing of the Zadroga Act which provides help for us emotionally and financially, if qualified, the capture and death of Osama Bin Laden and the opening of the 9/11 Memorial site.  But I should have known I was being too optimistic.

As a World Trade Center survivor, I have had a feeling that our country has had almost a decade of misplaced priorities.  A war on terrorism with countries that did not bring so much pain to me, a crippled economy which still devastates so many families today and people, just like me, who have been all but forgotten in the fray.  Ten years is a long time to be dead emotionally.

This is my public appeal.  Please do not tell me that my life doesn’t matter.  Please do not ignore the fact that I have been victimized and I suffer to this day in vain.  Please let me know that America cares about me.  I am the survivor.  I was in the building and I had to run for my life.  I still have nightmares, flashbacks, anxiety and depression.  Most importantly, I am one of thousands.  September 11, 2001 affected us all but please don’t penalize me because I can still breath or I didn’t run into a building but ran out for my safety.  After ten years of suffering in silence, I simply want my life back!

Simpson represents the survivors- the individuals who were in the buildings on 9/11/01, those who walked away emotionally devastated, scarred for life, and have struggled to pick up the pieces to move forward.  She puts a face to the national tragedy. For further information on Nicole B. Simpson and to inquire about media opportunities, please review her website http://www.nicolebsimpson.com or contact Harvest Wealth Media Group at Nicole@nicolebsimpson.com and 732-377-2024.

Leave a Reply

