A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Child’s Play…Or Is It? (Part II) ~ July 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Last Thursday I wrote the first part to this article. For those of you who missed it, you can check it out here, Child’s Play…Or Is It? I received a few responses to this post and I thought I would share some of them with you and further elaborate on the original post.

Desiray wrote ~ “I know that story all to well myself. I had friends that did the same thing and it does hurt your feelings because they act as though you are as not important as the other person. But I wasn’t as nice as you sis, I wouldn’t go back. And I stayed mad at that person for a couple of days, and when they would come back and say that they were sorry then I would accept it and we would play again. But I told them if they did it again to me they couldn’t be my friends. I told them ‘I don’t hurt your feelings so don’t hurt mine’. Great post and lesson.”

Barb wrote ~ “Yes, how I remember lessons from childhood and used to spend a great deal of time writing about them. It is so true that many adults do this. I wonder if they even realize it. I’ve felt the sting of being so easily replaced by adults in life and dropped like a hot potato. Very thought-provoking what our childhood experiences can serve upon reflection. Excellent point and story.”

Belinda wrote ~ “Wow, I wonder if Yvette’s mom had any idea that the lesson learned that day would be written about decades later. We should never merely use people then toss them aside.”

When I first wrote this article I almost decided to ‘not’ post it because I wasn’t sure if anyone  would be able to relate to it. After receiving these comments, I realized that many adults still behave in inconsiderate or unkind ways. There are a few words that struck me the most in the above comments. In Desiray’s, it is the feeling of not being “as important as the other person”. Isn’t it strange how some people have the ability to make others feel like they are less important in a relationship? It is as if what they have to offer is inferior to others. I find this very sad.

In Belinda’s response she mentions we shouldn’t use people. This never feels right but to toss people aside after they have served their purpose is not only unkind, it is cruel.  The word that struck me the most in Barb’s comment is the word sting. We all know that when a bee stings, it hurts. All three of these women have honestly admitted that when people treat us as less important, or use us and then toss us aside, or drop us like hot potatoes, it hurts.

Perhaps Barb is right and they don’t even realize what they are doing. I honestly don’t know but I can say this, I agree that this inappropriate behavior can and still does take place by adults. I would also like to add this. If it wasn’t appropriate behavior as a young child like Yvette’s mom so aptly pointed out in last week’s post, it is no more appropriate today. As I previously stated, morals and values never go out of style. What do you think?

2 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Child’s Play…Or Is It? (Part II) ~ July 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Child’s Play…Or Is It? (Part II) ~ July 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. If it’s not appropriate for a young child, it’s not appropriate for an adult, that’s for sure. I think there are times people don’t realize they’re doing these things, but on the other hand, I know some people know exactly what they’re doing, and they simply don’t care. They don’t take the time to consider how the other person feels or if it will continue to sting. Dolores, your post serves as a reminder for us all. Sometimes we’re so busy caught up in life that we may do things without realizing and that’s bad enough, but for those who do it intentionally and just don’t care, it’s even worse. We all need to open our eyes. Blessings, BJ


    • Hi Barb,
      Thanks for revisiting this post and further commenting. I agree with every word you said. I am sorry to acknowledge that some people do intentionally hurt others and they simple don’t care or don’t consider the feelings of others. There was a time in my life when I just couldn’t admit this, not even to myself. My goal on Thougthful Thursday with my articles is to encourage people to be reflective. I would like my posts to be thought-provoking and to serve as a gentle reminder for all of us to remember those simple life lessons that most of us learned at our mother’s apron strings. They still hold true today. In so many of my articles I try to evoke those memories in order to draw from the child-like innocence that may be buried deep within. Some of these memories and the lessons learned still have the capacity to enhance our adult life. Bright blessings to you and yours!


Leave a Reply

