A Woman's Voice


BOOK REVIEW ~ Author Janice Thompson ~ Questions And Answers Interview ~ July 11, 2011

Why did you decide to write this story?

My editor  at Summerside approached me with the name of the town because she knows I write a lot of wedding-themed stories. She wanted something lightweight/fun, and she  knew me well enough to know I would enjoy a fun story. The only real question we had in the beginning stage was: “Should this be a historical or a contemporary?” We went with historical because I felt sure the story idea was  better suited to the turn of the century. 

Tell us something interesting about the town of Groom:

Groom  boasts a nineteen-story high cross.  More than 100 welders worked together to erect it in 1995. Now you can see why I toyed with the idea of writing a contemporary novel! I wanted to include the  cross. Because I went with historical, I decided to give the heroine a small cross necklace to wear, one that symbolizes her faith (and alludes to the “bigger” cross to come).

What is it about your lead character that will make your readers care about her?

Readers will care about Anne because she’s been through so much and still chooses to move forward. They will also love her relationship with her younger sisters. She’s the only remaining parental figure and takes that position very seriously.

Why will readers enjoy your novel?

In spite of the lead character’s tough situation, the story is filled with comedic elements. Anne’s two younger sisters are a hoot. So is Maggie (the hero’s mother). She’s an Irish spitfire! I think readers will appreciate the romance between Anne and Jake. It’s filled with all sorts of sweet and comic moments.

Why do you like writing comedies with strong take-aways?

Comedy is a great outlet. We comedians can get away with a lot more than authors who play it straight. Want the reader to walk away with a little nugget of truth? Couch it in something humorous. I’ve found that light-hearted writing not only suits my personality, it’s the perfect vehicle for sharing the gospel.

What about your sub-characters? Call you tell us about any of them?

I love writing stories with fun sub-characters! Those who read my “Weddings by Bella” series know that I spend a lot of time creating my cast! Love Finds You in Groom, Texas is no different. Some of my favorite sub-characters are Emily and Kate (Anne’s younger sisters). Emily was patterned after Margaret O’Brien’s character in “Meet me in St. Louis.” Lots of fun! Another fun-loving character is Maggie, Jake’s mother. She knows just how to get what she wants! Even sour old Uncle Bertrand turns out to be a fun guy. . .in the end. 

Are any of your characters patterned after real people?

The characters are patterned more after characters than real people. I wanted the overall “feel” of the book to be a bit like that in “Anne of Green Gables.” If the reader is paying attention, he/she will notice a few Avonlea-esque images, including my heroine’s name. There are also a few nods to “Meet Me inSt. Louis” in this story, as well. 

Any suggestions for writers who are trying to get published?

Learn the craft. Take courses. Go to conferences. Do the work. But don’t ever let what you’ve learned rob you of your natural, God-given voice. There’s only one you, after all. 

Where else can readers find you online?

I love to connect with my readers at the following places:

www.janicehannathompson.com

www.freelancewritingcourses.com

www.facebook.com/jhannathompson 

Where can I get the book?

Love Finds You in Groom, Texas can be purchased at any number of online stores, as well as my website: www.janicehannathompson.com (front page). Readers can always join my VIP bookclub and get the locked in
price of $11 (no shipping) by contacting me directly at booksbyjanice@aol.com.

Thanks for spending time with me! I had a blast!

Thanks Janice for this interview!

 

3 Responses to 'BOOK REVIEW ~ Author Janice Thompson ~ Questions And Answers Interview ~ July 11, 2011'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'BOOK REVIEW ~ Author Janice Thompson ~ Questions And Answers Interview ~ July 11, 2011'.


  1. I enjoyed the novel you wrote and set in Florida for Summerside, and I reviewed it on my blog. I haven’t read any others, but I did enjoy the humor in this one. I don’t usually read historicals, but this one sounds like a winner. I enjoy contemporary and romantic suspense. Blessings for success. BJ

  2. Janice said,

    Thanks so much for running this interview! Barbara, I didn’t actually write the story set in Florida. A different author did that one. (I think it was Sandra Bricker’s book.) So glad you enjoyed it, though, because I write humor, too!


    • Janice…you are very welcome. I was honored to do this interview for you. I wish you much success with your new book!


Leave a Reply

