A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Child’s Play…Or Is It? ~ July 7, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

I want to tell you a cute little story with a very big lesson in it. When I was a very young girl about 6 years old or so, I used to play a lot with the neighborhood kids. In those days, you could go freely from one house to the next without a lot of concern by your parents. One little girl named Yvette asked me to come over and play dolls at her house. She was younger than me but I was happy to play with her. Right at the onset, she told me that she had already called on two other little girls (sisters) but they were having their afternoon nap. They actually did that in those days too right up until you started school. Yvette and I played for a least an hour in her back porch with her mother periodically checking up on us. We both had a wonderful time. Shortly thereafter, there was a knock on the door and there appeared the two sisters that Yvette originally wanted to play with. In they came and with that out I went.  Yvette promptly told me that I had to go home because now they could play with her. I never gave it a moment’s thought and I just got up and quietly left.

Within what felt like only a few minutes, Yvette came running down the sidewalk and asked me to come back and play. She explained to me that her mother came out to check on us and she discovered that I wasn’t there anymore. From what I could gather, her mother asked where I was and Yvette told her she had sent me home. Her mother went on to say that it wasn’t a kind thing to do. She then encouraged Yvette to go get me and invite me back to play dolls with her and the other two little girls. I quickly accepted this offer and then Yvette’s mother treated us all to Popsicles.

I will never forget this incident as long as I live. Yvette is not the only one that learned a lesson that day because I know something very much resonated with me. I don’t know how many times I see adults treat their friends this exact same way except they are not playing dolls. When someone else comes along, they drop the friends they have and move on. Everytime I see such behavior I think of Yvette’s mom and I wish she had been there for these people when they were children so that they would know how to treat people in their adult life.

I’ve been told that we learn all we need to know by the time we are in kindergarten as far as how we are supposed to treat others. It doesn’t hurt to remind ourselves of these little lessons so that we can treat our friends with the love and respect that they deserve. Kudos to Yvette’s mom.  Mothers have a very important job and it’s a good thing to acknowledge this fact because they are the very first teachers! Do you remember any special childhood lessons? Do you still try to keep them in mind in your adult life? Treating people with love and respect never changes no matter what our age. Do unto others…yup, it’s still applies today. Morals and values never go out of style.

13 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Child’s Play…Or Is It? ~ July 7, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Child’s Play…Or Is It? ~ July 7, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Eliza said,

    Good article Dolores. Thanks for sharing. Blessings.


    • Eliza…you are very welcome. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed my article! Bright blessings to you.


  2. Yes, how I remember lessons from childhood and used to spend a great deal of time writing about them 🙂 It is so true that many adults do this. I wonder if they even realize it. I’ve felt the sting of being so easily replaced by adults in life and dropped like a hot potato. Very thought-provoking what our childhood experiences can serve upon reflection. Excellent point and story. Blessings, Barb


    • Thank you for your response Barb….I very much agree with your take on this type of behavior. I have also wondered if the people engaging in it even realize what they are doing or how they are coming across. It is so true how thought-provoking our childhood experiences can be especially if we take the time to reflect on them and remind ourselves of the wonderful little lessons that we may have a tendency to forget as adults. Barb, I always appreciate your contribution to A Woman’s Voice. Blessings to you and yours! 🙂

  3. chosenwoman said,

    I know that story all to well myself, I had friends that did the same thing and it does hurt your feelings, because they act as though you are not important as the other person. But I wasn’t as nice as you was then sis, I wouldn’t go back. And I stayed mad at that person for a couple of days, and when they would come back and say that they are sorry then I would accept it and we play again. But I told them if they did it again to me they can’t be my friends because I don’t hurt your feelings don’t hurt mine. Great post and lesson


    • Hi Desiray…thanks for your response. I actually hesitated to post my article this morning. I had second thoughts because I wondered if anyone would be able to relate to it. Imagine my surprise when I found three quick comments first thing this morning. I am thinking that there are many of us who have been hurt by the poor behavior of others. You are very right Desiray when you say that some people act as if we “are not as important as the other person”. That’s it in a nutshell. Whether people realize that they are giving off this vibe or not, I have no idea. Although, one thing I can say is that they are only fooling themselves. I guess at 6 years old I was pretty nice about it as you mentioned but as an adult I’ve come to realize that if a person prefers the company of others, it’s better for me to just accept that fact and move on. You did give your friend a second chance, but I can see that you made it quite clear to her that you don’t hurt feelings and you didn’t want yours hurt either. Good for you Desiray. It took me well into my adult life to get up the courage to say that. Blessings to you sis!

  4. Ginny Hamlin said,

    I know I’ve shared this before, but it’s worth repeating. I love your transparency. Thank you for sharing this lovely experience.

    As for me, the one thing I’ve learned is that money does not make a person happy. We had very little growing up, but my mom taught us to be creative; she used to make “something” out of “nothing”. I actually coined that phrase with my children and they remember it to this day.

    The bottom line in my mom’s teaching was to be thankful for what you have.


    • Ginny…Thank you so very much for your kind message. I can’t tell you how much it means to me. I know you as a very compassionate and caring woman. For you to make such lovely comments and to share some of your childhood memories adds such a special touch to my own recollections and the value of the lessons I learned as a child. I think your mom was a wise woman and I can see that you have followed in her footsteps both as a mother and now as a grandmother. May God continue to shower you with His blessings.

  5. Lara said,

    Thank you for sharing that story. I can relate. It is so important to always treat others the way you would want to be treated, no matter how old you are.


    • Hi Lara,
      Welcome to A Woman’s Voice. I appreciate you reading my post and also leaving a comment. I very much agree with you. The Golden Rule of treating others the way we want to be treated applies to all ages. Many people can relate to a situation or story in their past that reminds them of the importance of being kind. Bright blessings to you Lara.

  6. Belinda said,

    Wow, I wonder if Yvette’s mom had any idea that the lesson learned that day would be written about decades later.

    We should never merely use people then toss them aside.

    My mother taught me by example to find small things exciting–and how to “have a party” at the drop of a hat–for any reason. She also saw good in everyone and loved unconditionally. All of these gifts I carry with me from her.


    • Hi Belinda,
      Yes…it’s hard to believe that the lesson Yvette’s mom taught us took place so many years ago. Over the years, I have reflected on it many times. She was a very kind woman and I’ve tried to teach my children and my students, the concept of behaving kindly in our dealings with others. To me, being kind is such an important human quality. I very much agree with you that “we should never merely use people then toss them aside”. When this type of behavior is brought to the atttention of children, they are more receptive to understanding it and how it can hurt others. I think you had a great mother who instilled some wonderful morals and values in you. What wonderful memories of her. Thanks for sharing part of her with us. Blessings to you and yours.


  7. […] I wrote the first part to this article. For those of you who missed it, you can check it out here, Child’s Play…Or Is It? I received a few responses to this post and I thought I would share some of them […]


Leave a Reply

