A Woman's Voice


I am a World Trade Center Survivor! ~ July 4, 2011 by Nicole Simspon

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on July 4, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

I am a World Trade Center Survivor!

It all began on September 9, 2001 at the end of morning worship when the preacher stated to me that I would be blessed beyond measure.  She told me that I would be rich and the Lord would use me to impact the world.  She shared that my enemies would have no choice but to help me in my ministry mandate. But her words also came with a warning. She told me that God wants to know if I would recognize His voice and answer His call.  She said the Lord is going to tell me to go then stay then go. On September 11, 2001, my ability to recognize God’s voice was put to the test.

I am a World Trade Center survivor. I worked on the 73rd floor in Tower II and I was in the building early Tuesday morning when Tower I was hit.  Initially I did not panic.  However, I walked over to the window, saw burning paperwork and the Spirit of the Lord told me to go just after I told my team members to stay put because what was occurring in Tower I had little or no affect on us. I gathered my team and began to walk down the steps comforted by the announcement made over and over again through the public announcement system that said our tower was secure and we did not have to evacuate the building.  That announcement convinced me to go back upstairs to the 73rd floor although God told me to leave.  When I arrived on the 44th floor, I stepped onto the elevator.  The Spirit of the Lord spoke once again telling me to stay.  I immediately got off the elevator and allowed the doors to close without me or my team.

Approximately 30 seconds later, Tower II was hit and the elevators came crashing down causing fireball explosions to burn people who were standing along the elevator path.  But the door that I was standing in front of did not open.  I was divinely protected by God.  Moments later the Lord told me to go again and I ultimately left the building with instructions not to look back lest I shall surely die.

I know God was there with me on that fateful day.  I know He divinely protected me and was kind enough to warn me in advance that I would be plagued with adversity after suffering such a traumatic event.  However, in these ten years, I have often questioned God to see if He forgot about me.

As we approach the ten-year anniversary of the tragedy of 9/11/01, as a survivor, I have watched people dissect conspiracy theories, I have seen the media rehash the day over and over again preventing us who were directly affected from healing. I have watched this national tragedy become more about politics and less about the people.  But what was most distressing is that the survivors have been neglected and left to fend for themselves.

For years, people who were in the building suffered in silence.  Significant emphasis has been placed on the families of the survivors and the first responders who risked their lives to save people like me.  But does the fact that I did not lose my life justify the fact that opportunity was stolen from me.

This was my struggle with God.  Lord while I am a grateful that You spared my life, the guilt because I’m alive and others died was intense.  The anger because I can no longer provide for
my family in the manner they have been accustomed to bothers me.  But most of all, the nightmares, the images I can’t escape ten years later have been too much to bear.  I can’t breathe and I cannot honor Your will effectively.  I don’t stand alone in this struggle God-there are others who feel the same way.

But God is sovereign and He is just.  He invites us to cast our burdens upon Him and He will provide rest.  In this ten-year journey, God had been dealing with me. It took me to hit rock bottom in 2007 to understand that God did not intend for me to stay in the wilderness. He knew I was capable of enduring the pain and teaching others how to trust in Him in spite of what they are going through. He knew I would convey the message to hurting souls that there is no weapon on earth that can prosper over our lives.  He gently reminded me that He has positioned me to prosper and not to forget His words on September 9, 2001.

These last few years, I have spent my time interviewing other survivors.  I have shared their story and I have researched information that will benefit us all physically, mentally and financially. It’s because of my relationship with God, I can help other gain access to information and resources we have not been privileged to in the past.  God has shown me that He has not forgotten about us.  He spared my life so that I can help others recover from catastrophic events in their own lives.

This year has brought about significant change.  People are tired of war, they are hurting economically and they want to move forward in life.  The capture of Osama Bin Ladin who was the face of terrorism added to the healing process for the country and the Zadroga Act signed into law provides opportunity for people to recover what was stolen.  But in the midst of it all, I am here and impacting the world just as He said I would.  When you place your trust in God, know that through it all, He has not forgotten about you.

Nicole B. Simpson, CFP represents the survivors. She spent almost three years talking to individuals who were directly impacted by the tragedy of 9/11/2001.  In June, 2011, she released the survivor’s story titled 9/11/01 A Long Road Toward Recovery.   For further information about the life and ministry of Nicole, please review her website www.nicolebsimpson.com

Thank you for your testimony Nicole. I am honored to have you as a guest writer on “A Woman’s Voice”. I appreciate you sharing your story with my readers and me. May God continue to bless you in your endeavors to help your fellow survivors and all other people who were so deeply affected by this tragedy. 

I would like to take this opportunity to wish all my American friends a Happy 4th of July!

5 Responses to 'I am a World Trade Center Survivor! ~ July 4, 2011 by Nicole Simspon'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I am a World Trade Center Survivor! ~ July 4, 2011 by Nicole Simspon'.


  1. How heart-touching. The memory brought tears to my eyes. It reminded me of Alan Jackson’s song WHERE WERE YOU WHEN THE WORLD STOPPED TURNING? As in the song, I was in a classroom with innocent, young children, middle-grade students, and one told me she was glad I was with her. I’m so glad you’ve allowed God to use the bad things in your life for good. May God bless and keep you. Have a blessed Fourth and a safe one. Blessings, BJ

  2. Susan Earl said,

    I couldn’t stop the tears running down my face as I read your words, Nicole. You have been “through the fire” just as many of the saints in the Bible endured, but you also have come through so that you can carry out God’s plan for you to help others and show them the way, the truth, and the light through your love and care for others.
    Several scriptures came to me as I read your testimony. The two that haunted me the most are: Isaiah 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” and 1 Corinthians 3:15 “If his work is burned up, he will suffer loss. However, he himself will be saved, but it will be like going through fire.”
    Thank you for sharing your heart.
    Blessings,
    Susan

  3. Kathy Eberly said,

    What an excellent post! My memories of that day are far different than yours. Thank you so much for sharing your heart!


  4. Thank you everyone for reading and responding to my post. Susan, you pointed out several scriptures that indeed will encourage anyone going through the storm. We never know what path God has in store for us but we are guaranteed that He walks it with us. Glory to God!


  5. […] Simpson is a survivor of 911. She has been a previous guest writer on A Woman’s Voice. Today, I share my space with Nicole once again in order to give her the opportunity to be heard. […]


Leave a Reply

