A Woman's Voice


FOUND MONEY ~ Part II ~ July 1, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

….Continued from yesterday

Found Money

When she turned around, I asked if her name was Gina. She said “no” and as I was about to turn around and keep walking she called back to me. She asked why I was looking for Gina because she knew her. Gina was her children’s babysitter.  I said that I found an envelope with Gina’s name on it. That’s all, no more info than that.  She then started to walk toward me. She looked so relieved as she told me that the envelope contained $200 and it fell out of the boys’ lunch kit while they were walking to Gina’s earlier this morning. This is when I first encountered her. If you would have seen the look on this young mother’s face. I think it was sheer disbelief bordering on shock when I handed her the sealed envelope with the $200 still in it. I may have made her day but you know something, she made mine too. It felt so rewarding to find her and give back what wasn’t mine in the first place.

A couple of years ago, when my husband and I were at a very crowded flea market in Mesa, AZ. a very similar situation occurred. A young couple was walking ahead of us and when the fellow pulled his hand out of his pocket a big wad of money fell to the ground. He was totally oblivious as my husband bent down to pick it up. We could easily have turned down an aisle or walked into a kiosk. They just kept walking ahead of us until my husband tapped him on the shoulder and said “You dropped your money”. Seeing both their faces was priceless.They were unbelievably grateful. I know there’s an old saying that goes like this; “A fool and his money are soon parted”.  Neither my husband nor I are fools. It was not our money in either instance and we took great pleasure in returning it to the rightful owners. I wish someone had done that with my daughter all those years ago. Being honest gives us the opportunity to have more faith in humankind.

I would love to hear some of your short stories about your own acts of kindness and how they made you feel or perhaps a story of an act of kindness bestowed upon you.  Sometimes, the smallest kindness can have the most profound effect.

“Be nice to someone today. It might not mean much to you but it could make the world of difference to them. The ones we think deserve it the least are the ones who need it the most”. ( An original saying by Charles Betts)

Happy Canada Day to all my Canadian readers!

2 Responses to 'FOUND MONEY ~ Part II ~ July 1, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'FOUND MONEY ~ Part II ~ July 1, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. susanearl said,

    Such an inspiring act of love, Dolores! I thoroughly enjoyed your post.
    Blessings,
    Susan


    • Thank you so much Susan….your encouragement and support mean a whole lot to me. Blessings to you too!


Leave a Reply

