A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Found Money ~ June 30, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

A strange thing happened to me on my  morning walk. I usually walk two miles every morning with my husband but today he was off mowing our daughter’s lawn. I decided to stick my ear plugs in and enjoy some music as I walked alone.  I met a few people on my path. One was a jogger, one was a biker and one was a mother with two young boys. As I walked along enjoying the music, I spotted a sealed envelope on the grassy boulevard that obviously all three of these people had missed. Initially, I thought someone had dropped a piece of mail  so I picked it up and thought I would just pop it in the mail box for them. On closer inspection, I could see through the holes in the envelope that there was cash inside because I could see a $50 bill. On the front of it was written the name Gina ($200).

I have found money before but it is usually in the form of coins. I have also found the odd paper money but never have I found $200. About 30 years ago I found a $1 bill that has “Jesus Loves You” written on it and I still have it folded up in my wallet today. When I find this kind of money, it feels good. However, finding this $200 did not feel good at all. It reminded me of when my teenage daughter had a paper route. She was supposed to go shopping after school and when she used the rest room, she accidentally forgot her cash in an envelope by the sink. There was $100 in it and she was absolutely heartsick that no one turned it in. We helped her out by giving her some money but she has never forgotten that moment and neither have I.

Today when I found that cash, in my mind, I saw my heartsick daughter. I knew in my heart I wanted to make every effort to find Gina. I never opened the envelope nor did I put it in my pocket. I hoped someone would see me carrying it and claim it. I held it my hand visible for anyone to see. I kept my eyes open for someone who might be searching for it. As I backed tracked, I ran into the woman with the young boys but now she was alone. Her back was to me but I could see that she was on the phone. She didn’t seem to be looking for a lost envelope but I decided to call out to her anyways….

To be continued tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

