A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Regrets ~ June 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

How many of us live without regrets? No one…I am sure! How many of us repeat the same mistakes over and over again? If we don’t learn from our mistakes, this is exactly what we will do. Often times, I will ask myself the rhetorical question of why a certain situation arises over and over again. My daughter’s answer is that I didn’t learn my lesson the first time around.

When history repeats itself, even if the players are different, I try to remember my daughter’s words. When a situation keeps revisiting me, I have no choice but to acknowledge and accept that there is a life lesson in it for me. It’s up to me to figure out what it is and perhaps I will have fewer regrets and more learning power. Wisdom…

9 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Regrets ~ June 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Regrets ~ June 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. chosenwoman said,

    My mother use to tell me all the time I had a hard head, because I did not always learn from my mistakes. My other sister could learn from one mistake me on the other hand it took several tries before I learned. But I told my mom I said when I do learn I got it. AMEN


    • Desiray….I was just thinking of you this morning and how much your posts have helped me along the way. It’s neat that you left a comment today and how you could relate to this post. You must have been thinking of me too! Thanks for that and for your continued support and encouragement!

  2. Andrea said,

    I even think that it is great when I am aware of a repeating pattern because even becoming aware is a huge step. Now to just figure out how not to repeat it!!


    • Andrea….you are very right! It is necessary to be aware that we are repeating a pattern before we can really do anything about it. Figuring out what to do may have its challenges but the first step is realizing that something must be done in order to have less regrets in life. Thanks for your input!

  3. Audra said,

    When things repeat, it scares me. It means I’m doing the same thing, hoping for a different outcome, which is the definition of insanity. Learning quickly, is wiser as you said.


    • I know Audra…I feel the exact same way when I do the same thing and hope for a different outcome. I end up chatising myself which doesn’t help the matter. So I’d have to say that I’m learning to be proacitve rather than reactive. We all know the old saying “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure” and it really holds true here. When we keep repeating history and beating ourselves up afterwards, it’s a double negative whammy. Yes…being wiser is the answer! Thanks for comments. 🙂


  4. So true, and history does repeat itself, but if we’re smart, we learn from our mistakes. Blessings, Barb


    • Hi Barb…absolutely! I couldn’t agree with you more. If we’re smart we do learn from our lessons. Thanks for stopping by. Bright blessings to you and yours!


  5. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website
    with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and great style and
    design.


Leave a Reply

