A Woman's Voice


INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Games People Play Part III ~ June 16, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

…continued from Tuesday. It’s time to use your imagination again. Remember, you are at the stage where you feel like a “mat” on the floor.

This is just a cute, little, self-help game I played with myself as I tried to figure things out to help me overcome my own feelings of inferiority. This is when I mentally switched the letters of  the word “mat” to form the word “tam”.  These “tam” personalities may actually feel superior or above others.  They may have the tendency to “look down” on those around them in a kind of superior or what some may refer to as a snobby way.   Although, I may have felt like a “mat” personality, I knew that I never wanted to heal in such a way that I would evolve into a “tam” personality.  That would be like going from one extreme to the next or from the pan into the fire.

Both personality traits, that of feeling inferior or that of feeling superior to other people, have their drawbacks.  I realized then and there, that I didn’t want  to be either. This is when I had another good look at that simple, little, three-letter word. I decided that I could take some creative license in using it so I opted to add an apostrophe. The new word I came up with was “am’t” which you know is the abbreviation for the word “amount”.

I then made a conscious decision and a concentrated effort to try to “am’t” to something in life so that I could feel better about myself.  Although my personal goal was to overcome my feelings of inferiority which were fueling my depression, I knew that I never wanted to make others feel the same way I did.  I didn’t want to feel better at anyone else’s expense. One of my deceased dad’s favorite expressions was “two wrongs don’t make a right”. It is never right to look down on people whether on the giving end or the receiving end.

My personal goal was to also help others so that they could “am’t” to something worthwhile and  develop a better self-image too. This is a great example of when Charles Betts’ words of wisdom hold true. “When we help others heal, we ourselves are healed”.  I wanted to develop a set of tools or skills that would work not only for me but for others just like me. I also wanted to share my discoveries so that I wasn’t the only one benefiting from my experiences. This has been the purpose of my writing endeavors since the onset.

My goal today is to demonstrate what I did so that you can choose to try to incorporate some of these simple, little ideas into your daily living by utilizing your imagination. This is merely a technique that I discovered and I want to share it with you.  My daughter calls it “self-talk” and that’s exactly what it is. We need to better learn to use our own mental and emotional skills in such a way that they work for us instead of against us. Therefore, look at yourself today. What image do you have of yourself? Do you feel like a mat, or a tam or are you going to “am’t” to something? Make up your mind what you are going to be just for today. Picture it…that’s all you need to do.

Last post in this series to be continued tomorrow…

WINNER of the copy of my book,  “Growing Up & Liking It”  ~ Congratulations goes to Virginia Johnson-Hamlin.

I would like to thank each and every one of you for reading my posts and for leaving comments when you do. I want you to know that you are greatly appreciated. May God grant you His choicest blessings! 

6 Responses to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Games People Play Part III ~ June 16, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES ~ Games People Play Part III ~ June 16, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Mary Jean Marquez said,

    Fabulous Thank you Dolores! God bless you girl!!! 🙂


    • Thank you ever so much Mary Jean…I appreciate you reading this post and your comments too! Bright blessings to you and yours! 🙂

  2. Rita said,

    I really liked this posting. It is so true!


    • Thanks Rita…I appreciate your positive comments and the fact that you can relate to my message. 🙂

  3. Ginny Hamlin said,

    Winning is wonderful, but winning a great prize is even better! ;)) TY!!


    • Ginny…yes indeed, winning is wonderful but for you to consider a copy of my book a great prize, makes us both winners!! Thanks for that and blessings to you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

