A Woman's Voice


SPIRITUAL SATURDAY ~ Prayer For The Prodigal Son ~ June 11, 2011 by Charles Betts

God of our Fathers. Friend Of Abraham

Creator of all. The great I Am

Who loves and cares for the souls of all

And hears the prayers when His children call

Your eyes we know are everywhere

To watch for those who are in your care

 

All my life, I’ve by you been blessed

Though yet my soul is sore distressed

My youngest son is still on his own

I only pray he’s not somewhere alone

May the Angels that watch over him be strong

The truth he knows keep him from wrong

 

I cannot continue to bear this pain

My heart has never known such strain

If only I could hold him in my arms

To know his soul has known no harm

God, does he know how I love him yet

I will forgive him, with no regrets

 

Though I can’t see him, I know you can

I trust he’s safe and in your kind hands

May he come back before it’s too late

I long to see him come through the gate

Just to know he’s alive and he’s free

God, please, bring him home, safe to me.

 

I love this poem Charles…maybe it’s because at one time or another we are all prodigal children and it brings me great comfort and reassurance to know that I am loved and forgiven.

FREE DRAW ~ Anyone who leaves a comment on any article from now until June 15th, gets their name put in a draw for a free copy of my book ”Growing Up & Liking It”.  The more comments that you leave the greater your chances of winning. Good Luck!

5 Responses to 'SPIRITUAL SATURDAY ~ Prayer For The Prodigal Son ~ June 11, 2011 by Charles Betts'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'SPIRITUAL SATURDAY ~ Prayer For The Prodigal Son ~ June 11, 2011 by Charles Betts'.

  1. Desiray said,

    I love the Prodigal Sons story in the bible I once was the prodigal and God can see repentance coming a long way…He reaches out to the one who was lost and He will leave that 99 to go and bring the one back. Only Jesus


    • Good morning Desiray…I know exactly what you mean about being prodigal. It’s so wonderful to know the love, mercy, and forgiveness of God. I feel very fortunate and grateful. 🙂


  2. Enjoy the poetry 🙂 and prodigal daughters as well as sons. Blessings, BJ


    • How very true Barb…prodigal daughters too! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I always appreciate when you do. Bright blessings to you and yours! 🙂

  3. laurette godard said,

    BEAUTIFUL AS ALWAYS.
    LAURETTE


Leave a Reply

