A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Confidence in God ~ June 9, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Have you ever been given a precious gift with very little monetary value that means so much to you? Many years ago, long before my father passed away, he gave each of his children a booklet titled “Confidence in God ~ Words of Encouragement” by Rev. Daniel Considine S. J.  It is very small, about 3″ by 5″ and has 94 pages. What I didn’t realize at the time was quite how dear this little gift was to me. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and have done so on many occasions since. However, I no longer have the original booklet which was actually the most special because my father signed it inside to his daughter Dolores…love Dad.

I was so thrilled with the content of the booklet that I shared it with the mother of a student that I was teaching. I wanted to pass along the beautiful message in this gift. As the years went by, I came to regret that I had given this gift away. It was so priceless to me. I eventually purchased several of these very booklets and gave them away as gifts myself. I know it sounds silly, but I wish I had kept that original little gift from my father and just given away one of the new ones that I bought, however, I only ordered them after the fact. The content of all the booklets remains the same and although the message in it still holds true today, my booklet does not have that personal inscription that has come to mean so much to me over the years. I am so sentimental and in my haste and with the right intentions, I gave away a gift that can’t be replaced. Every time I see my copy of “Confidence in God” I long to see my Dad’s signature inside. Have you ever done that? Have you given away some priceless, little gift that cannot be replaced no matter how hard you try?

I wanted to share a quote with you from this booklet. When I randomly opened the page, this was the first one to jump out at me. “It is no small penance in these days merely to bear with yourself; and if you bear properly with yourself and your neighbor, God will give you the highest graces.”  I would have to say that this is the message that God would like for us to hear today. On that note, I wish you all a grace-filled day!

FREE DRAW ~ Anyone who leaves a comment on any article from now until June 15th, gets their name put in a draw for a free copy of my book ”Growing Up & Liking It”.  The more comments that you leave the greater your chances of winning. Good Luck!

5 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Confidence in God ~ June 9, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ Confidence in God ~ June 9, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. chosenwoman said,

    Great words thanks for sharing my dear. I hope you have a wonderful day today.


    • Thank you Desiray…you have a most enjoyable day too!

  2. laurette godard said,

    DOLORES, YOU WRITE BEAUTIFULLY. THANKS.
    LAURETTE


    • Thanks Laurette…have a most enjoyable and blessed Sunday.


  3. […] too long ago, I wrote an article titled, Confidence In God.  If you happened to read it, I was referring to a little booklet my that dad gave me many years […]


Leave a Reply

