A Woman's Voice


A MAN’S VOICE ~ Words of Wisdom ~ May 22, 2011 by Charles Betts

Charles Betts is a wonderful poet and a regular contributor to my blog site. I not only enjoy his inspirational poetry, I always feel great pleasure in the comments he leaves after some of my other posts. Charles is a very gifted man who has taken his calling very seriously. Today I am posting his latest comment as food for thought on this lovely Sunday morning. His words are my gift to you. Enjoy!

Charles says…I read with interest your daughters poetry. Thank her for me for sharing her heart and being unafraid to share with the world a part of herself. It takes courage to do so and also a lot of inner awareness of who we are to just put ourselves out there for others to read and be OK with their thoughts of us. For me the big thing was to know that God was OK with who I am and what I shared. After that, even though I care how they feel, their concept of me is less important than His. Please tell her I enjoyed her poem.

Now to todays blog (referring to Thoughtful Thursday). For me, in this season of my life, a scripture that has had a huge influence on me has been the one found in Jer: 9:24&25. It goes something like this;” Let not the rich man glory in his riches or the strong man in his strength, but let him that glories, glory in this, that he knows and understands me, that I am the God that exercises loving-kindness, justice and righteousness in the earth and in these things I rejoice”

When I read this a few years ago it was like a huge lightbulb went off in my soul and I knew right away that God wanted me to join His exercise program. Especially the loving-kindness part. Like any program, the more we practise it, the better we get. I decided that I would get as good as I could and not be deterred by any opposition. Whether others knew what I was doing or not, I believed and still do, that God knew and it was between Him and I and not the ones around me.

When I saw the love God has for people and the things He tolerates in us, it became easier to treat others in a loving way. Not because we deserve His love but because He is love. So it is for me, not that others deserve any kindness but because God has put it in me and they need it.

This has been a great blessing in my life and has changed how I view others and deal with them. lt makes it so that my being who I am is not dependent on them, but on my relationship with God. As long as it is OK, I am OK.

Have a great weekend and thanks for allowing me to share with you and your readers, Charles Betts

You are most welcome Charles and thanks to you too. Have a blessed weekend and a wonderful week to follow. 

FREE DRAW ~ Anyone who leaves a comment on any article from now until June 15th, gets their name put in a draw for a free copy of my book ”Growing Up & Liking It”.  The more comments that you leave the greater your chances of winning. Good Luck!

2 Responses to 'A MAN’S VOICE ~ Words of Wisdom ~ May 22, 2011 by Charles Betts'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A MAN’S VOICE ~ Words of Wisdom ~ May 22, 2011 by Charles Betts'.


  1. I glory in having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Enjoyed this post and enjoy the poetry, too. Blessings, BJ


    • Hi Barb,
      It’s wonderfully rewarding to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Thanks for your comments and blessings to you and yours.


Leave a Reply

