A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ You Asked…I Answered (part 3) ~ May 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Who did you picture in your mind when you were writing this book (I’m Not Perfect And It’s Okay)? I ask because I felt like you were talking to me at my kitchen table over a cup of coffee! 

When I first started to write my book, my children were very young so they were not the ones that I was trying to address.  I was basically trying to reach my peers. So in essence, it was each and every one of you that I was talking to across my kitchen table over the cup of coffee that you mentioned.  I thought that my age group could possibly be the ones who might suffer from the stresses of life and a similar inability to cope.  Perhaps, they could identify with what I was trying to share. I hoped that they could learn from my experiences in such a way that they need not drink so fully from the cup of suffering and despair. 

It is interesting to realize that it is still my peer group who is showing the most interest and pleasure in reading my book but it is from a totally different standpoint than I expected.  They can relate to my experiences based on their own lives and they want to share my insights with their children, family or friends.   Some see my book as a teaching tool to reach out to others in a healing way.  Others feel that it better explains their own personalities or hang ups because they can identify with parts of my story. They then utilize my book by sharing it with their children in the desire to be better understood.  

Why did you start writing and when? 

As answered earlier, I started to write my self-help book over twenty-five years ago, but it did not take long for me to put that idea to bed. I just did not have the experience or life skills to be giving any sage advice.  Although, I read and saved many articles and quotes which I stuffed in my notebook, I only revisited the idea of actually completing this project 2 years ago.  As a young girl, one of my daughters whom is now in her thirties was well aware of my notebook.  She wanted to write a book herself and she asked for my notes. 

I gladly shared my information with her but soon afterward she became pregnant with her fourth child.  Her oldest was seven at the time.  As soon as I learned this wonderful news, I suggested she give me back my notebook.  I told her that the odds of me completing my dream were far greater than her at this time.  Besides, my notes made a lot more sense to me than they did to her and I had far more available time.  I really feel that her interest and inspiration was actually God’s hand spurring me on to complete the project that I had started so many years earlier.  The timing was now right! 

To be continued….please feel free to ask a question. I will answer it to the best of my ability. The above questions were asked by Laura Davis on Interviews and Reviews   

 

11 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ You Asked…I Answered (part 3) ~ May 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ You Asked…I Answered (part 3) ~ May 12, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. It’s interesting how we start out to write certain things and sometimes they end up in a file shoved in a desk or a notebook. I have files and notebooks full of material I started to write years ago, some finished, but never tweaked and submitted, some published in local newspapers and anthologies, some never finished. Congratulations on finishing yours. In 2004 when I lost my youngest sister, I started a nonfiction book, and I also had a novel started. Both stalled out and were never completed. I’d made a lot of headway on one. Maybe one day, they’ll see the light of day again and end up finished, if it’s God’s will and in His perfect timing. Blessings, Barb


    • Hi Barb,
      Your comment did go through after all and I thank you for it. I know exactly what you mean. For almost thirty years I had this dream of writing a book but I lost sight of ever accomplishing it until I was spurred on by my daughter. It’s as if God used her to remind me to revisit His plans for me. He does work in mysterious ways that’s for sure. One day when the timing is right you may very well complete your nonfiction book. I hope you do. Blessings to you and yours.

  2. Pat said,

    I’m glad to learn that I’m not the only one who has a book project tucked away in memory, and that these memories can resurface in reality.

    I am taking courage, stepping out in faith by relinquishing one source of (occasional) income so that I will have more time for the writing projects that are closer to my heart.

    Thanks for letting me in on your Thoughtful Thursday!

    BTW, how about joining us at MCWA for our last meeting of this season? Contact me for the info. I’d love for us to meet you and for you to meet the group,


    • Hi Pat,
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I am glad to hear that you share a similar dream. It does take courage and stepping out in faith but it was well worth it. Good for you for going for it. Thanks for the invite to your last MCWA meeting. I’ll contact you to find out when it is. Blessings to you and yours.

  3. Belinda said,

    Dolores I enjoyed your “birth story.” I also can relate to so much of the journey. Although I am far from the birth process yet, I just might be pregnant!

    It was good to see you pop up on Top Blogs! We have to give “Cobourg Atheist” a run for his money! That is my own little bit of fun. 🙂


    • Belinda….how wonderful for you if you are pregnant. Please take a moment to let me know when you find out for sure. I just recently discovered Top Blogs so I will help you give “Cobourg Atheist” a run for his money. Blessings Belinda and I put your name in for the book draw. 🙂

  4. Belinda said,

    Dolores–it is ONLY a book I might be pregnant with. 🙂 Just making sure everyone who might read my comment knows that! I am 60! 🙂


    • Hey…it’s a good thing you told me that. I actually thought you were identifying with my daughter who became pregnant with her 4th child when she wanted to write a book. “Pregnant” with a book idea is similar to giving birth but at 60 something, I think this is the better choice. LOL 🙂

  5. Belinda said,

    Phew! I’m glad I cleared that up. 🙂 News travels fast–the next thing you know my friends would be looking at me strangely and wondering if they should be throwing a shower. 🙂


  6. I have always known that I had a book to write. Only this year have I made the decision to start to write it. It will be a memoir of growing up and healing from incest and growing up with alcoholism in my family of origin. Many friends have encouraged me over the past 2 years to write my book. My blog satisfied my need to share my story for awhile. I have my 4 year anniversary coming up for my blog on June 1. Now the time is right for me to also start my book.


    • Hi Patricia,
      It’s wonderful to meet you and to hear some of your story. I will check out your blog site to learn more about you. I think it is great that you have decided to write a book especially after four years of blogging. I wish you every success in accomplishing this dream. When the time is right, there is no getting around it. You will not be satisfied until you fulfill what you have always known was inside of you…a book. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

