A Woman's Voice


A MAN’S VOICE ~ Lost In The Mirror ~ April 19, 2011 by Charles Betts

Dolores; I read with interest your article today. To go along with this, I would like to interject that my experience in life has been, many people are unhappy today because they don’t have a connection with who they really are. They search so hard for that which is better left alone and spend so little effort searching for that which means so much. The first being the approval of others and the second being the approval of themselves in and through Christ. No wonder that the scriptures say ” He who will find himself must first lose himself in me and whoever will lose himself in me will find himself” There is no substitute that I know of. Many have tried other things but I have found this alone works. When I become overwhelmed in life, it has been my experience that by looking it over carefully, I have been attempting things on my own. Time to stop and retrace and do what I know I should, ask for and follow God’s plan.

I am also including a poem I did that sort of goes along with this. Enjoy and God bless you, yours and your readers, Charles Betts

Lost In The Mirror

I felt lost in the mirror’s reflection
‘Cause I wasn’t really sure it was me
I couldn’t seem to make the connection
‘Tween them and who I wanted to be

Like a mirror looking into a mirror
The reflections just kept going on
The ones at the back disappeared
It seemed to me that I was a pawn

I fell under the strong influence of others
I made changes I thought they’d accept
I thought for sure I would be smothered
Every change left me feeling so inept

Then one day my whole world fell apart
I couldn’t stand what I saw in my face
So I asked Jesus to come into my heart
He filled me with His mercy and grace

Now I like what the mirror is reflecting
And I like what God’s done to my soul
The mirror is His word I’m inspecting
And I’m so glad that I’m in His control

A poem by Charles Betts
July 10th 2005

Thank you Charles.  I always appreciate your insights and words of wisdom. I couldn’t agree more. I don’t usually post on Tuesday but this seemed so fitting. I would also like to share Thoughts For Today by my friend Susan Earl. She has used several wonderful quotes. 

2 Responses to 'A MAN’S VOICE ~ Lost In The Mirror ~ April 19, 2011 by Charles Betts'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A MAN’S VOICE ~ Lost In The Mirror ~ April 19, 2011 by Charles Betts'.


  1. Great truth here, Charles. It is only when we can truly give our lives to Christ that we become free. Thanks for this.


  2. So God is showing me even more today after reading your post.

    First I found that Oswald Chambers for April 18 says this: We are so busy telling God where we would like to go. The man or woman who is ready for God and His work is the one who carries off the prize when the summons comes…. Be ready for the sudden surprise visits of God”. This can be found at http://www.myutmost.org/04/0418.html

    Then a friend of mine wrote about taking control – rather than listening to God. You can find that here: http://returnhomeandtell.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/daytimer-daze/

    When we focus on Him we don’t have to be fretting what others think. We focus on what He says and we can’t go wrong.
    Blessings,
    Jan


Leave a Reply

