A Woman's Voice


THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ You Asked…I Answered ~ April 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Dolores why did you write “I’m Not Perfect and It’s Okay” ~ A Baker’s Dozen ~ (Steps To A Happier Self)? 

Over twenty-five years ago, I went through a very difficult period in my life.  I was in my early thirties with a husband, a young family and a full-time career as an elementary school teacher when I experienced a bout of severe depression.  It totally knocked me off my feet and left me at an utter loss.  Due to a negative drug reaction to a prescribed anti-depressant, I was hospitalized for a couple of weeks and I had no idea what the future held for me.  At that time, the prognosis was not encouraging.   When I returned home from the hospital, one of my first desires after tending to my family was to try to share what I was going through and to try to prevent others from facing a similar experience.  My situation was so debilitating and devastating to me that the only positive conclusion I could arrive at was to try to help spare others this kind of ordeal.  It was at this time when I initially decided to write my book. 

How did you decide on a baker’s dozen? 

I decided on a baker’s dozen to honor my elderly mother as well as the memory of my late mother-in-law whom were avid bakers/cooks in their time.  As I tell my story, I share with my readers some personal anecdotes about life’s recipe for more peace and happiness according to my own experiences.  Due to this fact, I have chosen to refer to my suggestions as a baker’s dozen.  In other words, there are thirteen recommended ingredients to my recipe for a happier life.  Like all recipes, these can be adjusted to suit the individual’s tastes or needs.

Although I consider depression to be a serious condition, I have used many quotes and much humor in my writing to lighten up the topic and to show my readers the brighter side to life.  Usually the sharing or swapping of recipes denotes pleasure or joy.  A reader mentioned that she thought my book was a “feel good” book.  This has always been my goal, that of encouraging others to feel good about themselves and to have a better self-image.  

To be continued next Thursday…..please feel free to leave a question in the comment box. I will answer it to the best of my ability. The above questions were asked by Laura Davis on Interviews and Reviews. 

I recently discovered this quote by Dr. Ashley Solomon and I decided to share it with you.  She states, “Give me a break, people. I’m not sure where this little rumor got started, but it’s about time it was laid to rest. More than 20% of us will suffer from depression during our lives, and not a single one of us will avoid be affected by depression. While this doesn’t mean that we have to accept depression as the status quo, it points to the fact that being happy all the time isn’t in our biological or cultural reality.”

According to this quote, it would seem that depression is a fact of life. I’ve been saying this for some time now. If we don’t suffer from depression, we can be darn sure that we know someone who does. I still have bouts of mild depression. I merely know how to better cope with it so that it does not get  as severe as it once did. 

Self-acceptance of my condition certainly helped me make a better life for myself and those around me.  

6 Responses to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ You Asked…I Answered ~ April 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THOUGHTFUL THURSDAY ~ You Asked…I Answered ~ April 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Peter Black said,

    Thank you Dolores for continuing this helpful series, which provides insights for those relatively (or hitherto) untouched by depression, as well as encouragement for readers who suffer from it or who have people in their lives who do.


    • Thank you Peter! As usual I appreciate your contribution to “A Woman’s Voice” via your comments. I just had an interesting conversation with a friend of mine about depression and how it has affected her family. At times, I find that people have a tendency to hide illnesses that are misunderstood. It is quite sad when people think that we can “snap out” of this condition or that it is some kind of lack of faith or takes from our relationship with God. I have found the exact opposite to be true. When we better understand ourselves, we can better accept what is going on in our lives. My goal is to educate people so that they can be more open minded and find peace and contentment despite their suffering. Blessings!

  2. Desiray said,

    If more people would talk about issues like this then just maybe we can rid this thing of depression. It’s an evil spirit that attaches itself to so many people. The more we talk the more healed we become and others will be.


    • Desiray,
      That’s my goal…to get more people to talk about depression and other mental health issues instead of feeling the need to hide. Depression is a very misunderstood illness and better awareness is the best way to go. I hope I can open the door in some small way to help may this happen. Blessings sis…I know how much you do your part too.

  3. Sarah said,

    great post Dolores. Your standing up and being open will help others….


    • Thanks kiddo…I appreciate your kind words!


Leave a Reply

