A Woman's Voice


MIRACLE MONDAY ~ THE COUPON QUEENS ~ March 21, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

It seems so much easier to admit some of our silly, little habits when we find people who operate the same way. My mom was one of the biggest coupon people I know. She loved cutting out coupons and taking them to the store to redeem them for cash. The stores weren’t nearly so sticky all those years ago and they would dole out cash for your coupons whether you bought the product or not. My mom loved this little practice because money was tight in those days and this coupon money ended up being her extra cash to spend the way she saw fit.

I’m a coupon clipper. There’s no getting around this fact. The other day when I went to the local pharmacy with my wallet full of coupons, I got a bunch of excellent deals. When I jumped in the car and looked in the mirror, I realized I had become my mother. Oh my, I could hardly believe it.  I not only look like her, I’m now doing the same darn thing. The scary part about it is that the realization crept up on me in such an unexpected  way that it brought a smile to my face. 

I don’t really need to engage in this habit. I’m not in the same position my mom was all those years ago, so why do I do it? I’ll tell you why! I have a group of friends that I socialize with and guess what?  We all do the exact same thing. It’s actually hilarious. It’s a wonderful game that we all seem to enjoy. We go shopping and to restaurants with our handy coupons. Buy one meal, get one free has been the deciding factor in many of the restaurants we frequent. There is even a half-price day at the local movie theater.  Our husbands have started to be as hooked as we are and they are cooperating to the fullest extent.  Usually you can only purchase one item per coupon, so the “guys” sometimes join us so that they can use a coupon too. You know how much these men like to go shopping but yet somehow or other we get them to come along with us so we can benefit from two coupons instead of just one. 

As I’m writing this and trying to describe this habit of ours, it makes me want to burst out laughing. Here we are…all excelling in the art of being thrifty. We are so proud of our bargains. When we’re gone and leave our children their inheritance, if there’s any to be had, I’m sure they’ll spend it faster than you can “shake a stick” and probably without a moment’s hesitation. We’ve had a blast saving our money. Hopefully, our children will have as big a blast spending it!  What do you think? 

14 Responses to 'MIRACLE MONDAY ~ THE COUPON QUEENS ~ March 21, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MIRACLE MONDAY ~ THE COUPON QUEENS ~ March 21, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    How sweet is this article Miss D!

    I am a coupon clipper that has lost her way. I have not done it in years, but for a while there it was my Sunday ritual to get the paper, read through the coupons, file them, expunge expired ones, look for ones about to expire and get them in my wallet. I’d follow that up with reading Anne Landers, the Living section of the paper and the movie reviews … then on to lunch!

    But not anymore, there are some coupons I live by, and they come easy in the mail. I get the 20% off at Bed Bath and Beyond and I use that, my friend sends me groupons now and again .. but I don’t sit and clip like I used to… but this article reminded me just how fun that can be! I would feel so accomplished when I’d hear my savings.. and double coupon Tuesday .. was practically a holiday! What fun!

    great article!

    LLL from HTH !


    • Hey Hope….I’m not as diligent as my mom used to be but I know a great deal when I see one. I’ve discovered that there are many others that enjoy being thrifty and I love it! I kind of think that those of us who take pleasure in this little habit have seen some poverty in our lives or the lives of those around us. Thanks for your positive input. It’s wonderful to know that there are many of us that like a good deal and use coupons too. I like your Sunday ritual. Kind of sounds like mine with the Crossword Puzzle added to it!
      HTH from LLL

  2. Pat Willment said,

    Dolores…I guess we have another cousin thing in common!

    I started coupon clipping when we were first married and this ritual continued through our “lean” years…still do it occasionally now. I can’t seem to pass up a “good” coupon bargain! 😉

    Pat 🙂


    • Hi Pat…Yes, it seems that we do have this in common too and probably many other things. Even though we are cousins, we haven’t really been in each other’s lives since we were children. It’s neat to get re-acquainted this way. I have some fond memories from when we were kids and you came to visit with your parents. Remember the purse….it still brings a smile to my face. 🙂

  3. Andrea said,

    I have also had those moments, where I have looked in the mirror and thought, I have become my mother. I too, couldn’t be prouder of this fact!


    • Why thank you Andrea….that observation has a very special meaning to me seeing as I am your mother! I am equally proud of you!

  4. Desiray said,

    Dolores I have never been one who used coupons and I don’t know why. I know you can save money but I don’t use them..Now if I am about to purchase something big then I will save a coupon or rebate from a store…My sister she saves coupons she believes in those things.


    • Hi Desiray,
      I think that it is much easier to use coupons when you are retired. When I was working outside the home and raising my family, I didn’t have much time to enjoy the benefit of this little “hobby” of mine. Thanks for your comments Desiray!


  5. Fun article, Dolores!

    I’m one of those coupon people. 🙂 Finances required that I tighten my belt, and couponing has provided significant savings. Today, I purchased $53.00 worth of products for $16.50. I’ve learned to stretch my money.

    I hang out on couponing blogs, talk to friends about the latest deals, and help my niece save money on diapers and other baby needs. She doesn’t have the time to mess with coupons with three little kids and a part-time job.

    I’m grateful to the Lord for bringing this opportunity my way.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂


    • Wow…congratulations Susan on your great savings on that one purchase alone. That’s a big difference! I always do the same thing as far as checking how much I saved. It’s surprising how much you can actually save when you make up your mind to stretch your dollars. Coupons are a wonderful way of doing just that. Thanks for sharing your story. Blessings to you and yours!

  6. Susan Earl said,

    My Mom was a huge coupon clipper, too. She always bought two Sunday papers just to get the “extra” coupon savings. Me, I clip away at coupons, too. The only problem is, I clip them while I’m sitting on the couch, stick them in the drawer to put in my purse for later, and then leave them at home! I do have a laminated coupon for our favorite pizza restaurant… they just tell me to keep the same coupon and use it each time. I’m much better at doing this! I wish I could clip and save the way my mom did… Oh well!
    Your post also brought a smile to my face as I relived a fond memory of my own brought about through your words. Thanks!
    🙂 Susan


    • Hi Susan,
      I am happy to hear that you can relate to this little story of mine. A lot of our parents experienced financial hardship and they learned early on how to stretch a dollar. I guess we learned from them. Although, I’m like you. Many a time I’ve clipped a coupon only to find that I’d forgotten it at home when I went to make my purchase. Blessings to you and thanks for your comments!

  7. Wanda G said,

    Love this blog Dolores..Reminds me of a little sign I had made for one of my daughters….Mirror mirror on the wall…I am my mother after all..lol One day she was walking downtown in Portland OR and caught a reflection in a plate glass window…she said out loud, “Oh! There’s Mom!!” Then she realized it was her own reflection….FUN! Thanks again for all the smiles and insights you pass on D. I really appreciate you! (:


    • Oh Wanda,
      I love that little sign. “Mirror, mirror, on the wall… It is so true. It brought such a smile to my face because I’ve walked by a mirror and looked up and saw my mother’s image reflecting back at me. I can just see your daughter’s reaction when she realized she was looking at herself! She probably burst out laughing. Thanks so much for your wonderfully, encouraging, and supportive comments. I appreciate you too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

