A Woman's Voice


BLOG HOPPING DAY~ How To Say No To Negativity ~ March 16, 2011 by Audra Krell

Posted in BLOG HOPPING by doloresayotte on March 16, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

Have you ever heard of Dale Carnegie? I once took a course on public speaking and human relationships. The books written by him were the required reading for this enlightening philosophy on life.  Over and over as I read these books, I was reminded to have a positive attitude and positive outlook on life. I didn’t exactly become a public speaker but I will say this. I gleaned so much about how to look at things in a more positive way.

Dale Carnegie believes in “looking at the glass half-full instead of half-empty”. He believes in the philosophy of ” when or if life hands you a lemon, make lemonade”.  One analogy that still clearly sticks in my mind was when the instructor walked in the room and hung a white sheet of paper. On it were some black dots. He then asked the students what we saw. Everyone said, “black dots”. The instructor then went on to say, “that’s the problem with the way some people view life”.

In our lives, there is way more white than black, however, we have a tendency to look at the negatives (black dots) in our lives even though the positives far outweigh them. This philosophy changed my life. Please take a moment to read Audra Krell’s article, How to Say No To Negativity. It’s not too long and well worth reading. Sometimes we are being negative or saying negative comments to others and we don’t even realize it. Audra gives some helpful tips to overcome this habit. Thanks Audra! 

2 Responses to 'BLOG HOPPING DAY~ How To Say No To Negativity ~ March 16, 2011 by Audra Krell'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'BLOG HOPPING DAY~ How To Say No To Negativity ~ March 16, 2011 by Audra Krell'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I had a boss once that was a huge fan of Dale Carnegie. He included that philosophy into his management style. Needless to say, he was the best boss I have ever had!

    I liked the article. Very good points. Active listening is really a skill. I have found that often times, as I’ve learned to actively listen, repeating back a summary of what the speaker has just said, goes a long way towards truly hearing what is said, instead of hearing how I interpret what is said. It is amazing how much communication gets hazed by the filters of our own frame of reference..

    great tips! thanks
    LLL from HTH !


    • Hope…I can identify with how you appreciated the boss who incorporated Dale Carnegie’s philosophy into his management style. People with this belief system really stand out in life. I’m glad you took a moment to read Audra’s tips as well. I really enjoyed them too. I agree that communicating effectively is no easy feat. Thanks for your supportive comments.


Leave a Reply

