A Woman's Voice


MIRACLE MONDAY ~ LIFE’S JOURNEY ~ March 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES by doloresayotte on March 14, 2011
Tags: , , ,

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

Many years ago I decided to take responsibility for the unhappiness in my life and I made several life style changes. One of the biggest and best decisions I ever made was to get on a more regular exercise routine. Although I was fairly young, I never really had much time to dwell on myself  because I was busy raising my family and working outside the home as well.

In order to get my life back on track, I decided to start walking on a regular basis. I started off small by walking in between my bus stop connections on my way home from work instead of merely standing at the bus stop to wait for the next bus. After I built up my stamina and my desire to walk, I would not catch the first bus that came along opting to walk a little further each day.

Walking brought so much pleasure to my life that I proceeded to increase my distance so that eventually I was able to walk home on some days. (6 miles) I started this program over twenty-five years ago. I don’t think I could even do the math to figure out how many miles I have walked or the unbelievable benefit I have received from this simple decision. I have met several people along the way and enjoyed the company of many other walkers. I still walk three miles every week day and continue to enjoy all the friendships  I have made in this special way.  

At times, it is very difficult to make time for ourselves with the very busy schedules that we all have.  However, when we take time for ourselves, in the end everyone benefits. Walking is so simple yet so beneficial. Taking the first step, may very well give you such positive results that you will want to take many more steps.

Regular exercise of any kind is definitely a good habit and has many other positive side effects. Exercise is very therapeutic in dealing with and managing stress.

9 Responses to 'MIRACLE MONDAY ~ LIFE’S JOURNEY ~ March 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MIRACLE MONDAY ~ LIFE’S JOURNEY ~ March 14, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Desiray said,

    Dolores I love your decision you made to do something about what needed to be done in your life. I use to walk a whole more then what I do now and I am getting myself back into the walking again. I work out at the gym three days a week I decided that I need to take action of my personal health.

    You keep up the good work for it does pay off and you are seeing the results, praise GOD


    • Thanks Desiray…it is truly amazing what we can do when we make up our minds to do it. When we need to make changes, anything is possible with the right attitude. It really is our decision just like you said. Blessings!

  2. Jan said,

    Dolores,
    What a wonderful idea. That’s how you became such a good walker. Congratulations.
    Jan


    • Hi Jan,
      Thanks for your congratulations on my long time walking routine. You get to see first hand exactly what it means to me. It has been such a wonderful experience because all the friends that have joined me over the years have enhanced my life in the most incredible way! Blessings.

  3. Peter Black said,

    Wow! That’s a terrific walking routine.
    I am shamed. Hmm.
    However, I do expect that spring will see me out more often for walks, and for longer.
    Certainly, the Christian life and one’s spiritual walk is more aptly pictured by walking than by sprint racing. (E.g. Enoch in Gen. 5; Noah in Gen. 6; Josiah in 2 Kings 22.)
    Peter.


    • Hey Peter…thanks so much for your wonderful comments. I didn’t mean to shame you though because I know you lead such a busy life. Retirement can do that to you. Your quoting scripture reminds me that I am in good company. I like that thought. Blessing to you and yours!

  4. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I am so glad you are a walker. As you know, I am a runner, but I have found and felt the same camaraderie in that community. I aways find it so amazing how bridging the gap between small goals and successes strings together to be, as a whole, an amazing accomplishment!

    congrats on the walking!

    LLL from HTH


    • Thanks Hope,
      It looks like we have one more thing in common…exercising to overcome whatever ails us. I agree wholeheartedly with you about the camaraderie found on this wonderful path. I have made some incredible friends! I cannot believe how many people have touched my life in the shared joy of walking!
      HTH from LLL
      Miss D

  5. Charles Betts said,

    Dolores; I was reading your blog on life’s Journey. My wife and I have been walkers for years and try each day to walk at least 1/2 hour. A great way to spend time together.


Leave a Reply

