A Woman's Voice


Blog Hopping Day ~TRAUMA ~ March 2, 2011 by Dr. Ashley Solomon

Posted in BLOG HOPPING by doloresayotte on March 2, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

People often associate trauma with the aftermath of what soldiers might experience on returning home from war or other devastating physical and psychological events. Many people would simply answer “no” when asked if they’ve ever experienced trauma. I was one of those people. In my early thirties when I was raising my young family and working full-time as an elementary school teacher, I remember making a similar statement to some of my fellow teachers. I mentioned that I had never suffered. A year or so later, I was diagnosed with depression and my doctor prescribed an anti-depressant to help me cope. 

After a negative reaction to the prescribed drug, I ended up in a worse physical, emotional and psychological condition than I initially started off with before the adverse reaction to the medication. This unfortunate event ended up causing me more trauma than I could ever put into words. I liken it to a near death experience as I faced hospitalization, the inability to eat resulting in major weight loss, insomnia, loss of self-esteem, loss of my teaching career and other symptoms I just as soon forget.  I ended up with despair, confusion, desperation and isolation. I was then forced to look at my situation and face facts.

I never realized that I was a victim of childhood trauma until I was so out of sorts that I had no choice but to face my fears. Reality really hit home for me in my efforts to find a solution to my now even bigger problem than my bouts with depression. One of the most difficult things in life is to be truly honest with ourselves.  I was in such denial and it took years for me to sort through the “muck” and get to know myself better to figure out what was really making me sick.  Dr. Ashley Solomon shares her wisdom in her article titled:  What is Trauma? I hope you will take a few minutes to read what she has to say about trauma and its devastating effects.  Perhaps, there are past events in your life that are affecting how you live today. Hopefully, this article will shed some light on what you may be dealing with and what you can do to help correct your situation. It may also steer you in the right direction to find the resources you might need.

6 Responses to 'Blog Hopping Day ~TRAUMA ~ March 2, 2011 by Dr. Ashley Solomon'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Blog Hopping Day ~TRAUMA ~ March 2, 2011 by Dr. Ashley Solomon'.


  1. Thanks for sharing my post! I hope that your own post and mine will help others expand the definition of trauma. Thanks for sharing your own experience.


    • Ashley…you are very welcome. I thank you too for helping to educate others in the gifted way that you do. You have been a big help to me and I encourage others to have the benifit of your wisdom and experience. You have been an inspiration to me to be more open and honest about my own experiences. It is so wonderful to be free of the shame I was feeling. It took me a very long time to feel truly liberated.

  2. Peter Black said,

    Thank you for this candid post,Dolores. I haven’t read Dr. Solomon’s article yet, but plan to do that.
    The wholeness you experience today is evident in your writing, for the openness of your personality and your trust in the Lord come through.


    • Peter…I thank you for your encouraging and supportive comments. I truly appreciate your recognition and acknowlegement of what was a very difficult journey for me. It’s taken me years to learn how to be more open and honest about my experience. Earlier on, there were times when I thought I would never make it back. You are absolultey right! I could never have done it without my faith and trust in the Lord.

  3. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I recognize parts of that story from the back of your book, Growing Up and Liking It. I so admire you courage and frankness with which you speak of it. It inspires all of us.

    The article on trauma was outstanding. I had never really thought of things that way before. The author’s definition of trauma really allows a logical explanation for feelings that otherwise feel unexplainable and out of control.. I’m really glad you pointed me towards that article..

    excellent and brave post… well done!

    LLL from HTH


    • Hope…once again I want to thank you for all your encouragement and support. I agree that the article on trauma by Dr. Ashley Solomom is very informative. I’m so glad that you enjoyed it too. It was also very enlightening for me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

