A Woman's Voice


“Growing Up And Liking It” ~ Book Review ~ February 28, 2011 by Hope

Book Review by Hope

Growing Up & Liking  It: Thirteen Steps to a Happier Self

Author: Dolores Ayotte.

(Tate Publishing, © 2010, 192 pages)

At a time when most of our lives are complicated by schedule, commitment, stress and expectation, motivational author Dolores Ayotte greets us with a delightful, easy to read book that suggests an alternative approach to experiencing our lives. A follow-up book to I’m Not Perfect and It’s Okay, Growing Up and Liking It is a compilation of 13 life lessons, born of the wisdom of a life well lived and told through relatable stories, anecdotes, personal experiences and inspirational quotes. In her book, Ms. Ayotte encourages her readers to slow down, to listen, to question and become enthusiastic about the lives they lead.

As a reader, we are given a sneak peek into the Ms. Ayotte’s relationship with her friends, her husband, her children and her grandchildren. Her stories, simply told, convey not just the wisdom of her experiences but the way she reflects on her experiences to better her perspective and enhance her own life.  Her stories convey a strong dependence on a faith well-honed, a spiritual soul at the center of her thought and natural teetering between the roles of teacher and student that lends a sense of humility in the conveyance of her message.

What I found quite interesting in the read of this book, is the number of inspirational quotes incorporated into the teaching of the 13 steps to a happier self. For me, this is testimony to the breadth of seeking and reflection that has gone into the living the life that inspired these lessons. Inspiration from the likes of Mother Theresa, the Bible and Vince Lombardi are woven into practical pearls of wisdom that are easy to apply to anyone’s life.

The underlying message I found in all 13 steps, is that in our own lives, we are the ones with the power to change what is not working. The author encourages us to know and address our own needs; physical, emotional and spiritual. She encourages us to choose wisely what we strive to be, and pay dear attention to the journey taken to achieve our goal. She encourages us to finish what we start, say what we mean and mean what we say. Though none of this is news to any of us, the reminder to pay attention to these simple things is so welcome in our event-driven, constant connect, always on, always available lifestyle that has come to be our way.

In reading this book, I felt like I was talking to an old friend. The language is simple yet poignant, the stories relatable and familiar, the rhythm of the read easy and the message clear and consistent. As I read her stories, I was reminded of similar ones in my own life and my own family making her message all the more accessible and her suggestions all the more applicable.

Each of the thirteen chapters ends with a summary and a reflection. In this, Ms. Ayotte gives the reader practical, doable suggestions to help us begin to examine our own lives and find the places where we can begin to find and welcome our true self.

The book ends with an Epilogue that reveals the delicate and painful experiences that paved the way for these lessons to be compiled. The startling honesty of Ms. Ayotte’s story inspires all us to question, to know ourselves, to trust ourselves and our instincts and to find and hear our own voice.

I’m Not Perfect and It’s OK and Growing Up & Liking It are must reads for anyone looking to better their station in life, is seeking to find and define their own life’s legacy or find their way through a personal crisis. The read is simple, the message profound and the author’s story an inspiration to be the best that is within us.

By: Hope Rising

Thanks so much Hope for the wonderful book review. It is greatly appreciated!

12 Responses to '“Growing Up And Liking It” ~ Book Review ~ February 28, 2011 by Hope'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '“Growing Up And Liking It” ~ Book Review ~ February 28, 2011 by Hope'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    It was an honor to write it! I so hope the book is the huge success it should be!

    congrats on a job very well done!

    LLL from HTH !


    • Hope,
      I am equally honored that you accepted the challenge of writing a book review for me. I must say I am especially pleased that you accepted to read both my books. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule. Your critique is well written and wonderfully kind. Thanks for all you encouragement and support. It means a great deal to me.
      HTH from LLL Miss D 🙂

  2. Muriel Thompson said,

    Beauutifully written critique. Want to read the books. Appears there is value in it for all ages.


    • Thank you Muriel. I agree that Hope did a wonderful job in writing my book review. I see not only a poet in her, but an author too!


  3. What a wonderful book review!


    • Thank you so much Andrea! I must admit I’m very pleased with it myself.

  4. Sarah said,

    great review


    • Thanks Nikki…I look forward to receiving yours.

  5. Nora said,

    Great review! Excellent read! The books sound amazing!


    • Thanks Nora….Hope did an excellent book review. I am so pleased with it. I appreciate your comments!

  6. Eileen said,

    Outstanding review. Next on my list, order these books! They sound amazing and just what my heart and soul are needing. Best wishes.


    • Thank you so much Eileen. What a lovely, positive comment to greet me first thing in the morning. Blessings.


Leave a Reply

