A Woman's Voice


An Old Man ~ February 5, 2011 by Charles Bett

Posted in INSPIRATIONAL POEMS ~ SPIRITUAL SATURDAY by doloresayotte on February 5, 2011
Tags: , , ,

INSPIRATIONAL POEM

An old man on the corner

His hands behind his back

Thinking about his future?

Reflecting on his past?

 

I was in a hurry

So I didn’t stop to ask

The old man on the corner

With his hands behind his back

 

Old man on the corner

I wondered about your life

Did you have any children?

Did you still have your wife?

 

Had it all been easy?

Or did you know some strife?

Old man on the corner

What happened in your life?

 

Old man on the corner

Your face toward the sun

What had you accomplished?

What great things had you done?

 

Were your dreams completed?

Were some things not yet done?

Standing on the corner

With your face toward the sun

 

Old man on the corner

I see you’re there alone

Waiting for the transit bus

No car to call your own?

 

Of the things you’d learned in life

What did you wish you’d never known?

Old man on the corner

Standing so alone

 

Old man on the corner

Hair now turned to gray

Do you recall better times

When you could run and play?

 

Pleasant conversations had?

What other folks would say?

Old man on the corner

Hair now turned to gray

  

Old man on the corner

Do I see myself in you?

Are there dreams not yet dreamed?

Are there things I’ve yet to do?

 

Places where I need to go

Whiles my skies are blue?

Old man on the corner

Yes I see myself in you

A Poem By Charles Betts ~ June 1 2008 [On seeing an old man waiting for the bus]

Once again Charles, I would like to thank you for this thought-provoking poem.  This is the third poem in a series of four that Charles has sent me. I am honored to share his talent with you! 

11 Responses to 'An Old Man ~ February 5, 2011 by Charles Bett'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'An Old Man ~ February 5, 2011 by Charles Bett'.


  1. Such a good poem filled with realitiy of what we often wonder when seeing
    someone and not taking the time to talk with them. Most of us know many
    old men on a corner, if we stop to look. Thanks for sharing….


    • Diane…you are “right on” with your assessment of this poem. It really hits home about some of the loneliness that the elderly feel and our need to take a moment to make time for them by listening to some of their stories. So much wisdom to tap into and share with future generations. Your comments are always greatly appreciated.

  2. Sarah said,

    wow…great poem…really captures someone watching the old man…wondering…reflecting. well written


    • Nikki…yes this is a great poem to reflect on. It actually reminds us of how alone and reflective the aging process can be. I’m sure that Charles will be pleased with your comments.

  3. desiray said,

    Reality! We see it everyday no matter where we go it’s there. The question becomes what are we going to do about it? Will we go and talk to them and offer help or are we going to go and talk with no help at all? Thanks for sharing sis


    • Reality indeed…thanks so much Desiray for your usual insight. The question you asked needs to be reflected on by as many people and as often as possible. Just the other day a friend was sharing with me that when she was at the library an older man was saying to the clerk that his wife had recently died and he was so lonely. My friend went on to say that the clerk never even looked up or wanted to be bothered with what this lonely man had to say. We really can get carried away with our own lives. It’s nice to be reminded once and awhile to show that we care.

  4. Audra Krell said,

    This is so lyrical and hauntingly beautiful. I can just hear the song now.


    • Audra…I didn’t look at it quite that way but you are so right. This poem is very lyrical and also hauntingly beautiful. Thanks for seeing Charles’ talent in a new and creative way. I’m sure he would be pleased.


  5. Beautiful poem. It gets to the heart of the matter.

    As I watch my elderly family members’ world grow smaller, I know my turn will come. Today, I must meet the challenges of life, do what God has called me to do, and stop procrastinating.


    • Susan…I think there are many of us who have watched our families age and we have come to realize that our turn is coming. During this process, it brings us peace and contentment to know that God is holding our hand during our twilight years. We can see that it is not always easy. Thanks for your kind comments.

  6. kay wielinski said,

    Great poem – recall fond memories of my Dad and Grandfather .


Leave a Reply

