A Woman's Voice


DREAMS ~ January 31, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

             INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

 

At times, we don’t always realize the importance of our dreams. To me, the ability to dream and to have hope go hand in hand. 

To dream is to look ahead and aspire to be more than what we are at the present moment.

To dream is to have the desire to make a difference in this world we call home.

To dream is to be able to look forward and to try to achieve a goal that is new to us or that we thought was unattainable. To accomplish our dream is to realize that our lives are worth living. In doing so we gain self-worth, self-respect and in most instances the respect of others. This occurs especially when we have gone against the odds and risen above what appears to be the impossible. When we dream, we have hope.  When we have hope, we have a reason to live. Our “raison d’être” is the essence of our being. Without it, we don’t have much. With it, we have an indomitable spirit that drives us to broaden our horizons and soar with the eagles. 

“There  is only one thing for us to do, and that is to do our level best right where we are every day of our lives; to use our best judgement, and then to trust the rest to that Power which holds the forces of the universe in His hand…”  (Orison Swett Marden) 

“To be what we are, and to become what we are capable of becoming, is the only end of life.” (Robert Louis Stevenson)

“In the moment that you carry this conviction…in that moment your dream will become a reality.”  (Robert Collier)

14 Responses to 'DREAMS ~ January 31, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'DREAMS ~ January 31, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. NIkki said,

    beautifully said…prraying for you today…You’re gonna shine….


    • Thanks so much Nikki…I appreciate your support as always!

  2. chosenwoman said,

    For the past two Sunday’s my pastor has been speaking to us about vision. Telling us to get the vision, see the vision and move forward in the vision. So many times we as saints we don’t have vision. We think that God does not want us to have dreams and vision. He want us to have vision. We have many who sit in the church who are great visionaries and we don’t even know who they are because they sit and not make it known.


    • Desiray…how true. Vision is another beautiful word for dreams. I think we can only make things happen if we use our vision and work toward fulfilling our goal as God’s children. You are so right. How will anyone know what our vsion is, if we don’t share it with others?


  3. To dream involves recognizing that your spirit longs to be more. I love this post on dreams. I think it is time I start making some new ones of my own.


    • Andrea…I think you’re “right on” about our spirit longing for more. When we set our sights on dreams, it gives us something to work toward and look forward to. With the gift of vision/dreams, we have been given so much to be grateful for because it helps us rise above our current situation in our search for peace and joy.

  4. Ginny Hamlin said,

    “Most people in life, quit things too early.” ~ John Mellancamp


    • Ginny…how true. Persistence usually pays off. Thanks so much for your continued support. I really appreciate it!


  5. Love this one, too. Enjoyed reading it.


    • Thanks Barb…I always appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment. It means a great deal to me. Blessings to you!


  6. My dreams are wrapped up in His destiny for me. If I’m walking on His path, my life will reach its full potential and affect those around me.

    I can persevere with confidence as long as I know I’m in His will.


    • Very true Susan…our dreams would have no meaning if it weren’t for our faith and the deisre to follow God’s Will in our lives. I know I would never have been able to fulfill my dream thus far if it wasn’t His Will for me. For that I am forever grateful.

  7. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    This is a great post. You know I am a fan of hope … and hope seems to go hand in hand with dreams. I like the reference to doing your best, using your best judgement and then leaving the rest go. I think that is so key …

    Me, I’m trying to figure out what is next and what to dream for now .. but I am coming from a much better place now .. so I think it’s going to be amazing ..

    great great article….

    LLL from HTH!


    • Hope…I know what a big fan of hope you are and I thank you for touching my life on a daily basis and giving me even more hope. I’m so happy to hear that you are at a better place now and are ready to dream again after the loss of Arielle. You have shown me how much hope can do to heal us as we choose to move on and create new beginnings from past losses and sorrows. Blessings to you.


Leave a Reply

